The Curse of the 38th

As State Senator Joseph Coniglio’s problems continue to mount, consider the Curse of the 38th: each of Coniglio’s predecessors ultimately ended their political careers by losing campaigns for re-election to the State Senate. The district was created for the 1973 election, when Democrat John Skevin unseated Republican Senator Fred Wendel. Skevin was defeated eight years later by Republican John Paolella ). Paolella lost his seat after one term to Democrat Paul Contillo . Contillo beat Louis Kosco in 1987, but lost his seat to Kosco in the 1991 Republican landslide. Kosco held the seat for ten years before falling to Coniglio in 2001, after redistricting added two heavily Democratic towns — Fair Lawn and Fort Lee — to the 38th.