Sherlock Holmes Receives Theater for the American Musical Award

The New York Musical Theatre Festival announced that the winner of the Theater for the American Musical Award will go to Sherlock Holmes: The Early Years, which tells the tale of the famous detective as he “broods on the rise of a new criminal mastermind. But everything changes when the Blunt Diamond is stolen and Holmes must rouse himself to investigate. Is handsome Doctor Watson the key or is it the mysterious Nurse Mary? Thrilling adventures abound in the mysteriously-romantic comedy complete with dancing bobbies!” The NYMF Awards Gala will be held November 4 at the Hudson Theatre (145 West 44th Street). Among those performing at the Gala which will be Spring Awakening‘s Tony Award winning composer Duncan Sheik, Tony nominee Kelli O’Hara, and others. reports:

The 2007 Theater for the American Musical (TAM) Award will be given to Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years), one of the 34 new musicals presented during the 4th annual NYMF in September/October this year. Sherlock Holmes is written by Kate Ferguson with Robert Hudson (book), Susannah Pearse (lyrics), and Jared M. Dembrowski (music).

Endowed by lyricist Mae Richard, the TAM Award seeks to identify and honor new musicals that exemplify the best characteristics of the traditional American musical; with stand-alone songs that advance the story of the musical and are easily understood in performance – whatever the musical genre.