Pro-Congestion Pricing Council Committee Will See Bill

So, how is Christine Quinn—a major supporter of the mayor’s congestion pricing—going to get the (so far nonexistent) bill for the plan through the City Council, which has at least 20 members who have signaled they’re only lukewarm to it?

Crain’s Insider notes that the bill has been assigned to the Committee on State and Federal Legislation, chaired by Maria Baez, who supports the measure. Crain’s notes the bill was not assigned to the Finance Committee, which is chaired by congestion pricing opponent David Weprin.

For a list of members of the State and Federal Legislation Committee, see here.

That committee recently got two new members: Larry Seabrook and Melissa Mark-Viverito, who both support congestion pricing.

Article continues below
More from Politics
STAR OF DAVID OR 'PLAIN STAR'?   If you thought "CP Time" was impolitic, on July 2 Donald Trump posted a picture on Twitter of a Star of David on top of a pile of cash next to Hillary Clinton's face. You'd think after the aforementioned crime stats incident (or after engaging a user called "@WhiteGenocideTM," or blasting out a quote from Benito Mussolini, or...) Trump would have learned to wait a full 15 seconds before hitting the "Tweet" button. But not only was the gaffe itself bad, the attempts at damage control made the BP oil spill response look a virtuoso performance.  About two hours after the image went up on Trump's account, somebody took it down and replaced it with a similar picture that swapped the hexagram with a circle (bearing the same legend "Most Corrupt Candidate Ever!"!). Believe it or not, it actually got worse from there. As reports arose that the first image had originated on a white supremacist message board, Trump insisted that the shape was a "sheriff's star," or "plain star," not a Star of David. And he continued to sulk about the coverage online and in public for days afterward, even when the media was clearly ready to move on. This refusal to just let some bad press go would haunt him later on.
Donald Trump More Or Less Says He’ll Keep On Tweeting as President