Nine races for Mayor

Nine New Jersey municipalities will elect mayors in next Tuesday’s non-partisan election: Bradley Beach, Cape May City, Delran, Mahwah, Montclair, Orange, Perth Amboy, Spotswood, and Vineland.

Orange Mayor Mims Hackett, who was indicted last October on charges that he accepted a bribe, is not a candidate for re-election. Six candidates are running to replace him: Councilwoman Tency Eason, Councilman Donald Page; Planning Board Chairman Dwight Holmes; attorney Eldridge Hawkins, Jr., the son of a former Assemblyman; Zoning Board Chair Janice Morrell; and Betty Brown, who lost races to Hackett in 2000 and 2004.

Vineland Mayor Perry Barse faces a strong challenge in his bid for a third term from Robert Romano, a police lieutenant and the son of Barse’s predecessor. Also running for mayor is Nicholas Girone, a former school administrator.

In Montclair, incumbent Edward Remsen is not seeking re-election – the latest in a long string of one-term mayors. Councilwoman Joyce Michaelson, Councilman Ted Maddox and BikeMontclair founder Jerry Fried are the mayoral candidates.

A pair of Councilmen, Michael Chinnici and Ken Paris, are running for Mayor of Delran. The incumbent, Joseph Stellwag, is not a candidate for re-election.

Cape May City Mayor Jerome Inderwies faces a challenge from two former mayors, William “Jerry” Gaffney and Edward Mahaney.

Four-term Bradley Beach Mayor Stephen Schueler, who lost a bid for Monmouth County Freeholder in 2007, is not seeking re-election. Three candidates are running to replace him: Councilmen Gary Engelstad and Benjamin Waters; and Councilwoman Julie Schreck.

Mahwah Mayor Richard Martel faces a challenge from Gary Paton, a former Councilman.

Perth Amboy Mayor Joseph Vas, who is also a state Assemblyman, is favored to win re-election against challenger Wilda Diaz.

In Spotswood, longtime Mayor Barry Zagnit is not seeking re-election and Councilman Thomas Barlow is running unopposed to replace him.

Nine races for Mayor