Sitting Democratic Senators in New York Don’t Lose

One thing that can't be argued with: whoever David Paterson picks to replace Hillary Clinton in the Senate will need win an election at the end of Clinton's term in 2010, and again in 2012.

The impending campaign in an expensive media market has been cited as a reason to pick, say, Caroline Kennedy, who has the connections and the fund-raising capacity to do it.

It's also been cited as a reason someone like Kennedy might not want the seat–the Times wondered if she would be interested in the "unglamorous aspects of campaigning across New York’s 62 counties."

While electability is certainly a factor, history indicates Paterson might not want to base his decision on it.

A review of election results shows that in New York, no sitting Democratic senator has lost an election since at least 1920.

Courtesy of a reader:

Copeland (D, elected 1922) – Houghton (R) 49-48

Wagner (D, elected 1926) – Medalie (R) 56-39

Copeland (D) – Cluett (R) 55-37

Wagner (D) – O'Brian (R) 55-45

Mead (D, elected special election 1938) – Barton (R) 53-47

Wagner (D) – Curran (R) 53-57

Lehman (D, elected special election 1949) – Hanley (R) 50-45

Moynihan (D, elected 1976) – Sullivan (R) 65-34

Moynihan (D) – McMillan (R) 67-32

Moynihan (D) – (R) Castro 55-42

Schumer (D, elected 1998) – (R) Mills 71-25

Clinton (D, elected 2000) – (R) Spencer 67-31


Article continues below
More from Politics
(FILES): These two file photos show then Labor Secretary Thomas Perez (L) speaking to reporters about the minimum wage for federal contractors at the White House in Washington, DC, on Feburary 12, 2014; and Minnesota Democratic Congressman Keith Ellison (R) during a press conference about Islamophobia at the National Press Club on May 24, 2016 in Washington, DC.

US Democrats, licking their wounds from last year's election debacle, will pick a new leader on February 25, 2017 to take the fight to President Donald Trump and his Republicans. The race to chair the Democratic National Committee (DNC) features front-runners Tom Perez, a Hispanic-American and former secretary of labor under Barack Obama who is the establishment pick, and Keith Ellison, a black Muslim congressman from the party's progressive wing who has left open the prospect of pushing to impeach Trump. / AFP / Mandel NGAN AND Brendan SMIALOWSKI        (Photo credit should read MANDEL NGAN,BRENDAN SMIALOWSKI/AFP/Getty Images)
Sanders 2020 Just Became Much More Likely With Tom Perez as DNC Chair