Contested Assembly primaries in 23 districts

New Jersey will have contested primaries for Governor, for two State Senate seats, and in 23 districts for the State Assembly.

Gov. Jon Corzine will face three opponents in the Democratic primary as he seeks a second term as Governor – the first incumbent to have a primary challenge since Brendan Byrne ran for re-election in 1977. Corzine faces former Glen Ridge Mayor Carl Bergmanson, Phillipsburg businessman Roger Bacon, and Jeffrey Boss, who ran for President in 2008 saying that he witnessed the U.S. government planning the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

Five Republicans filed to run for Governor: former U.S. Attorney Christopher Christie, former Bogota Mayor Steve Lonegan, Assemblyman Rick Merkt (R-Mendham), Franklin Mayor Brian Levine, and David Brown, an inventor from South Brunswick. Newark businessman Dennis Knight and Morris County Freeholder James Murray, mentioned as potential gubernatorial candidates, did not submit nominating petitions.

Two Republicans filed to challenge State Sen. James Beach (D-Voorhees) in a special election in the sixth district: former Magnolia Mayor Joseph Adolf, who ran and lost two years ago, and Joseph Welsh of Haddonfield, who will run on a Lonegan slate. Beach won a special election convention in January to replace John Adler (D-Cherry Hill), who was elected to Congress.

In District 23, State Sen. Marcia Karrow (R-Raritan) will face a primary challenge from Assemblyman Michael Doherty (R-Oxford). Karrow won the seat in a January special election convention, defeating Doherty for the seat of Leonard Lance (R-Clinton), who resigned to take his seat in Congress.

The Assembly primaries:

District 1: Republicans Michael Donohue and Frank Conrad, the candidates backed by the local party organization, face a challenge from Robert Schaefer, who is running with Lonegan.

District 3: Republicans Arthur Marchand, a former Cumberland County Surrogate and Prosecutor, and East Greenwich Mayor George Shivery, face Dr. Robert Villare and Lee Lucas.

District 4: Assemblyman Paul Moriarty (D-Washington Township) and his running mate, Gloucester Township school board member Bill Collins, face a Democratic primary challenge from William Caramanna.

District 5: Assembly Speaker Joseph Roberts (D-Camden) and his running mate, Camden City Councilman Angel Fuentes, will face Albert DiSalvio in the Democratic primary.

District 6: Michael Stevenson is mounting a Democratic primary challenge against incumbents Louis Greenwald (D-Voorhees) and Pamela Lampitt (D-Cherry Hill).

District 9: Assemblymen Brian Rumpf (R-Little Egg Harbor) and Daniel Van Pelt (R-Ocean) face William Maxwell, a supporter of Steve Lonegan, in the GOP primary.

District 10: Donato Lombardi will run on a Lonegan slate for State Assembly against Republican incumbents David Wolfe (R-Brick) and James Holzapfel (R-Toms River).

District 16: Incumbents Peter Biondi (R-Hillsborough) and Denise Coyle (R-Bernards) face primary challenges from two Lonegan supporters, David Wallace and John Poirier.

District 21: Four Republicans filed – Assembly Minority Whip Jon Bramnick (R-Westfield); Nancy Munoz, whose late husband held the seat until his death last week; Long Hill Mayor George Vitureira; and Bruce Meringolo.

District 22: Rick Smiley will challenge Democratic incumbents Gerald Green (D-Plainfield) and Linda Stender (D-Fanwood).

District 23: Assemblyman John DiMaio (R-Hackettstown), who won a special election convention to replace Marcia Karrow, Hunterdon County Freeholder Erik Peterson, and Edward Smith, the Chief of Staff to Assemblyman Michael Doherty, will compete for two GOP Assembly nominations.

District 25: Four Republicans will compete in the primary – Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll (R-Morris Township), Morris County Freeholder Douglas Cabana, Randolph Mayor Gary Algeier, and attorney Anthony Bucco, the son of State Sen. Anthony Bucco (R-Boonton).

District 26: Assembly Minority Leader Alex DeCroce (R-Parsippany) and Assemblyman Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) will face Lou Signorino, who is running with Lonegan.

District 27: Jermaine Rankin will face incumbents John McKeon (D-West Orange) and Mila Jasey (D-South Orange) in the Democratic primary.

District 28: Assemblywoman Cleopatra Tucker (D-Newark) and Assemblyman Ralph Caputo (D-Belleville) will face three challengers for the Democratic Assembly nomination – former Assemblyman Craig Stanley (D-Irvington) and his running mate, Shelly Bell, and Seth Nwosu.

District 29: The two incumbents, Albert Coutinho (D-Newark) and Grace Spencer (D-Newark) face Andre Reames, a Hillside Democratic activist.

District 30: Republican Assemblyman Joseph Malone (R-Bordentown) and Ronald Dancer (R-Plumsted) face a primary challenger from Avi Solomon, a political reporter from Lakewood.

District 31: Assemblyman Anthony Chiappone (D-Bayonne) and his running mate, Jersey City police detective Charles Mainor, face a Democratic primary challenge from Ronnie Meadows and Monique Snow.

District 35: In the Republican primary, Lynne Anne Shortway and George Sawey face Walter Garner and Vicki Arians.

District 37: Christopher Gagliardi of Englewood will challenge two incumbents, Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-Englewood) and Gordon Johnson (D-Englewood) in the Democratic primary.

District 39: Assemblywoman Charlotte Vandervalk (R-Montvale) and her running mate, Washington Township Committeeman and former gubernatorial candidate Robert Schroeder, face conservative William Fenwick in the Republican primary.

District 40: Assemblymen David Russo (R-Ridgewood) and Scott Rumana (R-Wayne) face primary challenges from Joseph Caruso and Anthony Rottino.

Contested Assembly primaries in 23 districts