The New New Democratic Leadership Team

All of the purported leaders of the Democratic conference stood together to announce their leadership team at a press conference just now. They are:

Pedro Esapda Jr., the chamber’s majority leader.

Malcolm Smith, the chamber’s president pro tempore. A source familiar with the deal said that Smith would hold that post only until December; when asked about this, Sampson would not say either way.

John Sampson, the Democratic conference leader.

Jeff Klein, the deputy majority leader.

Carl Kruger, chairman of the finance committee.

A Senate resolution affirming these votes is required; Sampson promised it will come tonight.

Article continues below
More from Politics
Mayor Bill de Blasio huddles with his former counsel Maya Wiley.
De Blasio Says ‘Going Forward’ He Won’t Hide Conversations With Private Consultants