‘End of Men’ is Beginning of Book for Hanna Rosin

end of men End of Men is Beginning of Book for Hanna RosinHanna Rosin will be expanding her recent Atlantic cover story, “The End of Men,” into a book—the rights sold to Rebecca Saletan at Riverhead in a deal negotiated by Sarah Chalfant of the Wylie Agency. According to the Publishers Marketplace announcement, the book is “pitched in the tradition of The Feminine Mystique, Backlash, The Beauty Myth, and The Second Shift.” Rosin will examine the economic and cultural shifts that have given modern women unprecedented advantages over those unemployed Ward Cleavers, the menfolk.

From the article:

Men in ancient Greece tied off their left testicle in an effort to produce male heirs; women have killed themselves (or been killed) for failing to bear sons. In her iconic 1949 book, TheSecond Sex, the French feminist Simone de Beauvoir suggested that women so detested their own “feminine condition” that they regarded their newborn daughters with irritation and disgust. Now the centuries-old preference for sons is eroding—or even reversing. “Women of our generation want daughters precisely because we like who we are,” breezes one woman in Cookie magazine.

A contributing editor at The Atlantic and a founding editor of Slate’s DoubleX, Rosin is also the author of God’s Harvard: A Christian College on a Mission to Save America, published in 2007 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    If it were women falling behind, she’d be calling for gender equality. Now that men are struggling in some places she wants to write a smug book looking down on them. What a sexist  asshole.

    1. Anonymous says:

      You are right, America and the West is dying because less of humans such as Rosin are around. But look at it this way, men go on the third world. While liberals die off in the West; men’s role continue as Africa, Asia and Latin America develop. It’s for the better of humanity that Rosin’s life is short lived.