Abraaj Capital Award Taps 2012 Winners

Arif Naqvi, the founder and CEO of Abraaj Capital, which will soon have five new works in its collection.

One of the world’s most lucrative art awards, the Abraaj Capital Prize, which focuses on artists in the MENASA region–that’s the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia–has released its names of 2012 prize winners.

The recepients are as follows:

  • Taysir Batniji (from Gaza),
  • Wael Shawky (Egypt),
  • Risham Syed (Pakistan),
  • Raed Yassin (Lebanon) and
  • Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige (Lebanon), a duo.

Each winner takes home $120,000 in funding from the private equity group Abraaj Capital to fund the creation of an original artwork.

According to The National, a paper based in the United Arab Emirates, independent curator Nat Muller has been picked to serve as curator for the projects, overseeing the realization fo the works.

The new works will be unveiled at Art Dubai in March and then transfered to the private collection of the financial firm.

Abraaj Capital Award Taps 2012 Winners