Payne secures Essex County line in CD 10

As expected, Newark Council President Donald Payne, Jr will have the line in Essex County in the CD 10 contest.

“He has the entire support of the Essex County Democratic Committee,” said Phil Thigpen, chairman of the county committee.

Payne filed his petitions today, the chairman said.

He is running in a primary with state Sen. Nia Gill, (D-34), Newark West Ward Councilman Ronald C. Rice and Irvington Mayor Wayne Smith.