Seven named to task force studying school-lunch program

TRENTON – Acting Governor Kim Guadagno today named seven people to the New Jersey Education Funding Task Force. The task force’s job is to evaluate the Free and Reduced Price School Lunch Program.

The New Jersey Education Funding Task Force will be chaired by Secretary of Higher Education Rochelle Hendricks.

It also will include Common Sense Institute of New Jersey President and former Randolph Board of Education President Jerry W. Cantrell;

Former Paterson Public Schools Director of Early Childhood Education Anna Lugo DeMolli;

Fort Lee Public Schools Interim Superintendent Steven Engravalle;

Stern & Kilcullen Partner John P. Inglesino;

St. Benedict’s Prep Headmaster and Essex County Vocational and Technical Schools Board President Rev. Edwin D. Leahy;

and Former Absecon City Councilmember Charles Urban.

“The Education Funding Task Force will evaluate the use of the Free and Reduced Price School Lunch Program as a measure for ‘at-risk’ students,” Guadagno said, “explore the viability of alternative measures, and generally provide recommendations to address aspects of the school funding formula that are susceptible to fraud and abuse.  

“By finally taking a look at these critical issues, we will ensure that education dollars are distributed in a fairer and more equitable manner for every child in New Jersey.”

Questions arose last year about abuses in the program.

Related stories:

Doherty raises questions about lunch program

Elizabeth board of ed president charged