Paterson ward races include fight for vacant seat in Ward 4

Paterson Ward races anchor tomorrow’s nonpartisan municipal contests.

In addition to contests in all six of the city’s wards, the following candidates are certified to run for a single at-large seat: Frank Filippelli, Flavio Rivera, and Kenneth McDaniel.

In the First Ward, Councilman Anthony Eboney Davis is seeking re-election. His challengers are Luis A. Ona and Pedro Rodriguez.

In the Second Ward, Councilman Aslon Goow wants his seat again. He is being challenged by Sonia Torres, wife of former Mayor Jose “Joey” Torres, Joseph Atallo, Edwin Lozada, and Mohammed Akhtaruzzaman.

In the 3rd Ward, incumbent Councilman William C. McKoy is trying to win re-election against challenger Alex Mendez.

The race for the 4th Ward seat concerns a vacancy in the wake of the retirement of veteran Councilwoman Vera Ames. Vying for the seat are Ruby Cotton, Wilkin Santana and Mark Fischer.

Fifth Ward Councilman Julio Tavarez is running for re-election tomorrow against challenger Luis Velez.

In the 6th Ward, incumbent Andre Sayegh is seeking re-election. His challengers are Eliecer Montoya and Maria P. Rivas.