32BJ Weighs In for Democrats, Although Some Are Left Out

Earlier today, SEIU 32BJ, one of the city’s more notable unions, announced its endorsement in dozens of State Senate and Assembly races throughout the city. And while the full list, which you can view below, is mostly just a catologue of New York’s Democratic incumbents in the State Legislature, there are a number of endorsements, or lack there of, which stand out.

Only one incumbent Democrat, Senator Shirley Huntley, appears to have been passed over. While normally this wouldn’t be a big deal, Ms. Huntley is facing one of the most serious primary challenges in the city as she faces off against Councilman James Sanders, and she would surely like every bit of help she can get.

However, the union did announce its endorsements for several open seats, including Brad Holyman for State Senate and Luis Sepulveda, Jerry Iannece, Ron Kim, and Mayra Linares for the State Assembly. All of these candidates are facing competition in their September 13th Democratic primary battles. In the race to replace Hakeem Jeffries, however, the union apparently decided to not give its nod to either Walter Mosley or Ola Alabi.

Also notably, 32BJ did not back Democrat Simcha Felder’s bid against Republican Senator David Storobin. They told the New York Daily News that the union had too few members in the Brooklyn district to make their endorsement worthwhile, although they announced their support in all of the assembly races in the area. They also declined to offer official backing for Democrat John Mancuso, who’s running against incumbent GOP Assemblywoman Nicole Malliotakis in one of the few swing assembly districts anywhere in the city.

Nevertheless, many, many Democrats can walk away happy with their new support.

“Unlike state Republicans in the past, New York’s current Republican state senators have failed our state by refusing to pass crucial, commonsense legislation that would  benefit middle-class and working New Yorkers,”32BJ Secretary-Treasurer Hector Figueroa said in a statement. “They refused to raise the minimum wage; opposed a bill to force utilities like Con Ed to abide by the state’s prevailing wage law; and chose to continue the corruption of our political system by blocking campaign finance reform.”

View the full list below:

Assembly 23- Phillip Goldfeder(D)

Assembly 24- David Weprin(D)

Assembly 25- Jerry Iannece (D)

Assembly 26- Edward Braunstein (D)

Assembly 27- Michael Simanowitz(D)

Assembly 28- Andrew Hevesi(D)

Assembly 29 -William Scarborough(D)

Assembly 30- Margaret Markey ( D)

Assembly 31- Michele Titus ( D)

Assembly 32-  Vivian Cook (D)

Assembly 33- Barbara Clark (D)

Assembly 34- Michael DenDekker (D)

Assembly 35 – Jeffrion Aubry (D)

Assembly 36 – Aravella Simotas-(D)

Assembly 37 – Catherine Nolan (D)

Assembly 38 – Michael Miller (D)

Assembly 39- Francisco Moya (D)

Assembly 40- Ron Kim(D)

Assembly41- Helene Weinstein (D)

Assembly 42- Rhoda Jacobs(D)

Assembly 43- Karim Camara (D)

Assembly 44- James F. Brennen (D) [sic]

Assembly 45- Steven Cymbrowitz (D)

Assembly 46- Alec Brook-Krasny (D)

Assembly 47- William Colton (D)

Assembly 48- Dov Hikind (D)

Assembly 49- Peter Abbate (D)

Assembly 50- Joseph Lenthol (D)

Assembly 51- Felix Ortiz (D)

Assembly 52- Joan Millman (D)

Assembly 53- Vito Lopez (D)

Assembly 54- Rafael Espinal (D)

Assembly 56- Annette Robinson (D)

Assembly 58- Nick Perry (D)

Assembly 59- Alan Maisel(D)

Assembly 60- Inez Barron (D)

Assembly 61- Matthew Titone (D)

Assembly 63- Michael Cusick (D)

Assembly 65- Sheldon Silver (D)

Assembly 66- Deborah Glick (D)

Assembly 67- Linda Rosenthal (D)

Assembly 68- Robert Rodriguez (D)

Assembly 69- Daniel O’Donnell( D)

Assembly 70- Keith Wright(D)

Assembly 71- Herman Ferrell (D) [sic]

Assembly 72- Mayra Linares(D)

Assembly 73- Dan Quart(D)

Assembly 74- Brian Kavanagh (D)

Assembly 75- Richard Gottfried (D)

Assembly 76- Micah Keller (D)

Assembly 77- Vanessa Gibson (D)

Assembly 78- Jose Rivera (D)

Assembly 79- Eric Stevenson(D)

Assembly 80- Naomi Rivera (D)

Assembly 81- Jeffery Dinowitz (D)

Assembly 82- Michael Benedetto (D)

Assembly 83- Carl Heastie (D)

Assembly 84- Carmen Arroyo (D)

Assembly 85- Marco Crespo (D)

Assembly 86- Nelson Castro(D)

Assembly 87- Luis Sepulveda (D)

Senate 11- Tony Avella (D)

Senate 12- Michael N. Gianaris (D)

Senate 13- Jose Peralta (D)

Senate 14- Malcolm Smith (D)

Senate 15- Joseph Addabbo (D)

Senate 16- Toby Stavisky (D)

Senate 18- Martin Dilan ( D)

Senate 19- John Sampson (D)

Senate 20- Eric Adams (D)

Senate 21- Kevin Parker (D)

Senate 22 Andrew Gounardes (D)

Senate 23- Diane Savino (D)

Senate 25- Velmanetta Montogomery ( D) [sic]

Senate 26- Daniel Squadron ( D)

Senate 27- Brad Hoylman (D)

Senate 28- Liz Krueger (D)

Senate 29- Jose M. Serrano ( D)

Senate 30- Bill Perkins (D)

Senate 31- Adriano Espaillat(D)

Senate 32- Ruben Diaz, Sr. (D)

Senate 33- Gustavo Rivera ( D)

Senate 34- Jeffery Klein (D)

32BJ Weighs In for Democrats, Although Some Are Left Out