2012 Abraaj Capital Art Prize Winners Named

A work by Issa, ‘Proposal for a Crystal Building’ (2003) in the center of Cairo’s Tahrir Square. (Courtesy the artist)

Five artists have been selected as winners of the fifth edition of the Abraaj Capital Art Prize, each taking home a $100,000 grant to complete projects they proposed as part of the selection process. Those winners are as follows:

– Vartan Avakian, of Lebanon
– Iman Issa, of Egypt
– Huma Mulji, of Pakistan
– Hrair Sarkissian, of Syria
– Rayyane Tabet, of Lebanon

As the Baibakov Art Projects blog notes, two of those artists, Iman Issa and Rayyane Tabet, appeared in the 2012 edition of the New Museum’s triennial, “The Ungovernables.”

The Abraaj Prize is given annually to artists from the Menasa—Middle East, North Africa and South Asia—region. According to Dubai’s Gulf News paper, Ms. Issa plans to complete her work in New York.

Curator Murtaza Vali will oversee the completion of the five artists’ projects.

Congratulations to all.

2012 Abraaj Capital Art Prize Winners Named