D.A. Pennebaker, Jeffrey Katzenberg to Win Honorary Oscars

While the honorary Academy Awards no longer get a devoted segment during the televised ceremony, the awards are still a big deal–a chance to honor those who slipped through the cracks and never ended up with a statue. This year’s four recipients don’t include a single actor (unlike recent years when recipients have included James Earl Jones and Lauren Bacall): they’re stuntman Hal Needham, documentarian D.A. Pennebaker, American Film Institute founder George Stevens Jr., and DreamWorks executive Jeffrey Katzenberg (who receives a special Humanitarian Award for his philanthropy). Mr. Needham is a legendary stuntman who also directed Cannonball Run, while Mr. Pennebaker is famous for films including Monterey Pop and the Bill Clinton documentary The War Room.

The four men will, if experience is guide, receive a brief tribute at next spring’s Oscar ceremony.