John Smith Wins 2013 Jarman Award

(Courtesy Jarman Award)

(Courtesy Jarman Award)

Film London, the U.K.’s Channel 4 and London’s Whitechapel Gallery announced today that John Smith is the recipient of the 2013 Jarman Award, which honors artist-filmmakers.

Mr. Smith will take home a £10,000 ($16,000) check and a broadcast commission for Channel 4.

The shortlist for this year’s prize also included:

– Ed Atkins
– Beatrice Gibson
– Emma Hart
– Rachel Maclean
– Uriel Orlow
– Charlotte Prodger
– Hannah Sawtell
– Grace Schwindt
– Jessica Warboys

In celebration of Mr. Smith’s victory, let’s give his 1976 film The Girl Chewing Gum another watch!