The Observer’s 2017 Tony Award Predictions: ‘Dear Evan Hansen,’ ‘Oslo’ Will Win

Anyone who checked off Hamilton and The Humans in multiple categories on their Tony Awards ballots last year had a very good chance of winning their office pool.

This year, however, the nominations were more spread out, reflecting a season with many beloved shows but no clear favorite. As such, the 71st annual Tony Awards may be the hardest to predict in recent memory.

But there’s no way that will stop us! Here are the Observer’s best guesses for what shows and actors will win on Sunday—by the end of the night we’ll either look like prophets or fools:

Best Musical: Dear Evan Hansen Won

Best Play: Oslo Won

Best Revival of a Musical: Hello Dolly Won

Best Revival of a Play: Jitney Won

Laurie Metcalf in A Doll’s House Part 2. Brigitte Lacombe

Best Leading Actor in a Musical: Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen Won

Best Leading Actress in a Musical: Bette Midler, Hello Dolly Won

Best Leading Actor in a Play: Kevin Kline, Present Laughter Won

Best Leading Actress in a Play: Laurie Metcalf, A Doll’s House Part 2 Won

Mark Ruffalo and Danny DeVito in ‘The Price.’ Joan Marcus

Best Featured Actor in a Musical: Gavin Creel, Hello Dolly Won

Best Featured Actress in a Musical: Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen Won

Best Featured Actor in a Play: Danny DeVito, The Price Lost to Michael Aronov, Oslo

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Cynthia Nixon, The Little Foxes Won

A scene from ‘Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812.’ Chad Batka

Best Director of a Musical: Rachel Chavkin, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812 Lost to Christopher Ashley, Come From Away

Best Director of a Play: Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Jitney Lost to Rebecca Taichman, Indecent

Best Original Score: Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Dear Evan Hansen Won

Best Book of a Musical: Irene Sankoff and David Hein, Come From Away Lost to Steven Levenson, Dear Evan Hansen

The 71st annual Tony Awards air Sunday night at 8 PM on CBSKevin Spacey will host. Follow the Observer for continuing coverage.