Mayer won’t seek re-election

Assemblyman David Mayer will not seek re-election to a third term, and South Jersey Democrats say that former Gloucester Township Mayor Sandra Love will replace him on the 4th district slate.

The Camden County Democrat becomes the 17th member of the State Assembly to not seek re-election. Of those, ten are running for the State Senate, where there are 12 retirements so far.

Mayer, 40, was elected to the Assembly in 2003, defeating incumbent Stephen Altamurro by a wide margin. Altamurro had won a Special Election Convention several months earlier after George Geist moved up to the Senate.

Love did not seek re-election as Mayor last year. She became Mayor in 1994, following the death of her sister-in-law, Ann Mullen. Mullen served in the State Assembly from 1990 to 1992.

She will run with State Senator Frederick Madden and Assemblyman Paul Moriarty.

The number of retirements is expected to grow over the next few weeks, with State Sen. Sharpe James and Assemblyman Wilfredo Caraballo possibly heading that list. Two other Assemblymembers, Democrats Jeff Van Drew and Linda Greenstein, are mulling Senate bids. Mayer won’t seek re-election