Many incumbents lose in municipal races

In the race for West Windsor Council, incumbents Charlie Morgan and Will Anklowitz won re-election. Their running mate, George Borek, defeated incumbent Frank Giambetese, Jr., the son of the Mayor of South Brunswick.

South Orange Village President Bill Calabrese lost his bid for a fourth term. He was defeated by a nearly 2-1 margin by Douglas Newsman. Three of the four incumbent Village Trustees also lost re-election, including Allan Rosen, who has held the seat for 26 of the last 30 years.

Verona Councilman James Robbins was defeated, and two incumbents in Cedar Grove won re-election.

In Washington Township (Mercer County), allies of Mayor David Fried won all three races for Council. The losers included incumbent Larry Schneider and former Mayor Douglas Tindall.

Three incumbents backed by Union County Democratic Chairwoman Charlotte DeFillipo won re-election — although one Councilman is just four votes ahead. Another Councilwoman, Deborah Stroud, will face a June runoff.

In Tinton Falls, Councilwoman Kim Barret lost re-election by wide margin. Incumbent Brendan Tobin was re-elected, along with newcomers Gary Baldwin and Duane Morrill.

In Bradley Beach, incumbent Frank Boyle lost his bid for re-election to Julie Schrek; three incumbents were re-elected. In Island Heights, incumbent Fred Rosenfeld failed to win re-election.

Incumbent Mount Ephraim Commissioners Michael Reader and Suzanne Gaglianone were defeated.

In Haddon Township, where thirteen candidates sought three seats, incumbent James Broderick was defeated by Randy Teague, Paul Doughtery and John Foley.

In Byram, three incumbents seeking re-election ost: Donna Griff, Louis Esposito and Earl Riley.
Many incumbents lose in municipal races