Estabrook forms exploratory committee

Former New Jersey Chamber of Commerce Chairwoman Anne Evans Estabrook took the first step toward her bid for the 2008 Republican nomination for U.S. Senate by announcing the formation of an exploratory committee that includes a Congressman, four GOP County Chairs, three state legislators and several key Republican fundraisers.

Backing Estabrook’s bid to unseat four-term Democrat Frank Lautenberg are Rep. Mike Ferguson, former Republican National Committee Finance Chairman Lewis Eisenberg, State Senators Diane Allen and Joe Kyrillos, Assemblywoman Amy Handlin, Monmouth County GOP Chairman Adam Puharic, Union County GOP Chairman Phil Morin, Gloucester County GOP Chairman Loran Oglesby, and Camden County GOP Chairman Rick DeMichelle.

Other Estabrook supporters include former Republican State Committee Co-Chair Candy Straight, former Rep. Richard Zimmer, veteran GOP leader Ronald Gravino, former State Treasurer Michael Horn, former BPU Commissioner Connie Hughes, former state Commerce Secretary Gil Medina, and Roxbury Township Clerk Bettylou DeCroce, the wife of Assembly Minority Leader Alex DeCroce.

"I am a businesswoman. I know how hard it can be to do business, create good jobs and raise a family in New Jersey, said Estabrook. “Taxes are too high, government regulations are too burdensome. And all Washington seems to care about is partisan politics.”

“As I have done throughout my career, I want to work to find solutions and get things done so we can make our state more affordable, safer and healthier,” said Estabrook. “I would bring a fresh perspective and a new approach to the Senate.”

Estabrook, a 63-year-old resident of Spring Lake, is the Chief Executive Officer and Principal of Elberon Development Co., a New Jersey real estate company, which together with its affiliates owns over 30 buildings and 2.2 million square feet of space. She is a trustee on the board of Catholic Charities in the Newark Archdiocese Five New Jersey Governors have appointed Estabrook to economic development and budget commissions.

Estabrook forms exploratory committee