GOP wins New Hanover special election

GOP incumbent Dennis Roohr was re-elected to the New Hanover Township Committee yesterday, defeating Democrat Sharon Atkinson by a 191-176 margin in a special election to break a 170-170 tie in the November 2007 contest. This is the second Republican victory this month in tie-breaker elections; the GOP won a mayoral race in Matawan.

This was the first electoral test of the new Burlington GOP Chairman, Bill Layton. Atkinson had the active support of Democratic County Chairman Rick Perr.

Roohr became Mayor on January 1 after the Township Committee appointed him to fill the vacancy caused by the tied election. Atkinson had served one term on the governing body before losing re-election in 2006. GOP wins New Hanover special election