Rules Reform Committee Stocked

ALBANY—The members of the temporary State Senate committee on rules reforms have been named.

In a press release, Republican Leader Dean Skelos said State Senators Joe Griffo and George Winner will sit on the commission, in addition to co-chair John Bonacic. The Democrats picked State Senator David Valesky to serve as Bonacic's partner, and Senators Daniel Squadron, Liz Krueger, Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Jeff Klein, and Jose Serrano to sit on the committee.

On the Democratic side, two of the members – Krueger and Squadron – have said reform is a top priority: Krueger sued in 2006 for equal rights for minority members, and Squadron campaigned on a platform of opening up Albany.

Two of the Republican members–Griffo and Winner–are relatively new to the chamber. Yesterday, State Senator Dale Volker said he expected Deputy Minority Leader Tom Libous would sit on the committee, and that he had agreed to do so if asked by Majority Leader Malcolm Smith. Rules Reform Committee Stocked