Clerk Vote Exposes Quinn’s Rift With Brooklyn

The City Council voted 32 to 16 in favor of making Michael McSweeney the city’s new clerk, exposing a deep rift in the Council between Christine Quinn and many City Council members from Brooklyn.

Almost everyone from Brooklyn, except Diana Reyna, voted against McSweeney’s nomination. Reyna is openly feuding with Brooklyn Democratic chair Vito Lopez on unrelated issues.

Two candidates for citywide office were among the no votes: Bill de Blasio, who is running for public advocate, and David Yassky, who is running for comptroller.

Helen Foster of the Bronx voted against McSweeney’s appointment, criticizing the speed of the voting process.

Here are the no votes:

Charles Barron

Bill De blasio

Eric Dilan

Matheiu Eugene

Simcha Felder

Lew Fiddler

Helen Foster

Vinny Gentile

Sarah Gonazalez

Letitia James

Darlene Mealy

Mike Nelson

Domenic Recchia

Kendall Stewart

Albert Vann

David Yassky Clerk Vote Exposes Quinn’s Rift With Brooklyn