Healy unveils mayoral slate

Jersey City Mayor Jerramiah Healy, who’s seeking reelection this May, is revealing his council slate tonight at the Casino in the Park.

All but three of the council’s incumbents will run with Healy.

In Ward E – the only seat held by a non-Healy ally, Steven Fulop – the Mayor is putting up Guy Catrillo, a Republican who works for the city’s planning division and has run for legislative office several times. Catrillo is president of the Dante Alighieri Society and the Historic Preservation Commission.

In Ward C, where incumbent Steve Lipski decided against seeking reelection after being arrested for allegedly urinating on a concert crowd from a balcony, businesswoman and community activist Nidia Rivera Lopez – the wife of former Councilman Benjamin Lopez — will run on Healy’s ticket

In Ward B, Phil Kenny, an ally of Freeholder Bill O’Dea who works as the , Office Operations Coordinator for the Hudson County Board of Chosen Freeholders, replaces Mary Spinello.

All three at-large members – Mariano Vega, Willie Flood and Peter Brennan – will remain on the mayors slate, as will Michael Sottolano (Ward A), Bill Gaughan (Ward D) and Viola Richardson (Ward F). Healy unveils mayoral slate