Dems support Norcross for state senate

Assemblyman-elect Donald Norcross has not yet been sworn in to the lower legislative house, but he already appears to have a clear path to move up to the state senate. 

Close to 100 Democratic Party leaders, elected officials and labor leaders  from in and around the 5th Legislative District closed ranks around Norcross to take over the state senate seat vacated by Camden Mayor Dana Redd, and Camden Councilman Gilbert “Whip” Wilson to take over the assembly seat that Norcross was elected to fill.

Norcross is the South Jersey AFL-CIO president, co-chairman of the Camden County Democrats and brother of South Jersey power broker George Norcross. 

“Donald Norcross and Councilman Wilson will be outstanding representatives of the people of the 5th District,” said U.S. Rep. Rob Andrews (D-Haddon Heights).  “They will do what needs to be done to reduce government spending, hold the line on taxes and improve the quality of life for those who live and work here.”

Norcross will serve in the state assembly for four days before Democratic committee members from the district hold a special election on Jan. 16 that will almost certainly send him on to the state senate. 

Below is the full list of supporters, from the Camden County Democrats’ press release:

U.S. Rep. Robert E. Andrews, Assembly Speaker Joseph Roberts, Camden Mayor Dana Redd and State Sen. President-elect Stephen Sweeney. Lloyd Henderson Esq., a prominent African-American leader; the Rev. Reginald Jackson, executive-director of the Black Ministers Council of New Jersey; Bishop David Evans of Bethany Baptist Church; Logan Township Mayor Frank Minor, chairman of the South Jersey Political Black Caucus; Camden Mayor Gwendolyn Faison; and Jeannine LaRue, vice-president of Rutgers University and former deputy chief-of-staff to Gov. Jon Corzine; State Sen. James Beach, the co-chairman of the Camden County Democratic Party; Gloucester County Democratic chairman Michael Angelini; Assemblywoman Nilsa Cruz-Perez, Assemblyman-Elect Angel Fuentes, Camden County freeholders
Louis Cappelli, Riletta Cream, Jeff Nash, Carmen Rodriguez, Ed McDonnell, Ian Leonard, and Rod Greco; County clerk Joe Ripa; Sheriff Chuck Billingham; Surrogate Pat Jones; Gloucester County Freeholders Rob Damminger, Joe Chila, Frank DiMarco, Joe Brigandi, Jean DuBois, and Warren Wallace; county clerk James Hogan, Sheriff Carmel Morina, and Surrogate Helene Reed.Rev. Carl Styles, president of LIUNA Local 222; Marcus King, president of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters Local 331.

The Democratic Municipal Chairs of Audubon, Kurt Pechmann; Barrington, Maureen Bergeron; Bellmawr, David Duncan; Brooklawn, Thomas MacAdams; Camden, Dana Redd; Deptford, John Vinci; Gloucester City, Jay Brophy; Haddon Heights, Jay Jones; Hi-Nella, Gary Tomar; Lawnside, Rhonda Wardlow-Hurley; Magnolia, Mary Martz; Mount Mphraim, Bruce Greenwald; Runnemede, David Vinella; Somerdale, James Perry; Stratford, Terry Armbruster; Westville, William Knight; Woodbury, Chuck Rose; Woodbury Heights, Lou Deeck; Woodlynne, Jeraldo Fuentes; and Barbara Holcomb, vice-chairwoman of the Camden County Democratic Committee and former Winslow Township committeewoman.

The mayors of Audubon, John Ward; Barrington, John Rink; Bellmawr, Frank Filipek; Brooklawn, John Soubasis; Camden, Dana Redd; Gloucester City, William James; Hi-Nella, Meredith Dobbs; Lawnside, Mark Bryant; Logan Township, Frank Minor; Magnolia, Betty Ann Cowling-Carson; Mount Ephraim, Joe Wolk; Pennsauken, Ric Taylor; Runnemede, Virginia “Ginny” Betteridge; Somerdale, Gary Passanante; Woodlynne, Jeraldo Fuentes; Deptford, Paul Medany; Westville, Russell Welsh; Woodbury City, Robert Curtis; and Woodbury Heights, Harry Elton.

Camden Council Members Curtis Jenkins; Francisco Moran; Marilyn Torres; Dana Burley; William Spearman; Deptford Councilman Wayne Love; Lawnside Council Members Stephen Moore; Christopher Raines; Mary Ann Wardlow; and Clifford Still;  Somerdale Councilwoman Carol Jenkins-Mitchell; Stratford Councilman Michael Perez; Woodbury Council Members Patrick Pottillo and Gwendolyn J. Brown; and Woodlynne Councilman Ricardo Hernandez Sr.

Dems support Norcross for state senate