A Bayonne horse race

Bayonne Mayor Mark Smith and Councilman at Large Terry Ruane filed petitions for reelection today along with the rest of their team, newcomers Aggie Gillespie, Joe Hurley, Ray Greaves and Joe Hurley.

Assemblyman Anthony Chiappone, and Leonard R. Kantor are challenging Smith for mayor.

Filing petitions for the two City Council at-large seats are Christopher Amabile, Maria Karczewski, William J. Birtwistle, Thomas J. Bragen, John Budnik, Denis F. Wilbeck (allied with Chiappone), Councilman Terrence P. Ruane (running with Smith), Debra Czerwienski, Richard McCarthy and Mary Jane Desmond.

Running in the First Ward are Thomas J. Cotter, Ray J. Massarelli, John R. Cupo and Gillespie. Candidates for Second Ward are Salvatore Gullace, Ramon O. Veloz (allied with Chiappone), Hurley and John Butchko.

Those seeking the Third Ward seat are incumbent Gary La Pelusa, Sr., Michael Alonso, Deborah Noble, and Greaves. A Bayonne horse race