Bollen Gets Bookish: The New McInerney?

Christopher Bollen-former editor in chief and current editor at large of Interview, former editor at V magazine-has his debut novel out on submission via Bill Clegg of William Morris Endeavor.

The book is called Animal, and tells the story of Joseph Guiteau, a 33-year-old whose male relatives all die suddenly at the age 34. Joseph also deals with an unrelated conspiracy theory, a messed-up best friend and the marital stress engendered by his new wife’s ex-boyfriend.

According to the submission letter, Animal is a “kinetic novel of overlapping lives struggling to find futures in the charged canyons of New York City and each other”-something in the tradition of Jay McInerney, Tom Wolfe and Bret Easton Ellis, “the most celebrated contemporary transcribers of young urban striving and decadence.”

Mr. Bollen, a nightlife fixture, is known for palling around with Derek Blasberg, author of the forthcoming lifestyle guide Classy. Brooke Geahan of the Accompanied Literary Society, for one, is cheering their efforts. “Publishing can do with more social types,” she said. “The literary world tends to be insular.” She added of Mr. Bollen: “It doesn’t hurt that he’s a good-looking, incredibly nice individual,”

And dedicated! Mr. Bollen, who didn’t respond to request for comment, is rumored to have stopped going out for six straight months while working on his oeuvre.

 

Bollen Gets Bookish: The New McInerney?