And the legislators with the deepest pockets are…

According to the most recently filed Election Law Enforcement Commission report, nine senators and one Assembly member make up the top 10 legislators with the heaviest war chests.

Former Gov. Richard Codey, who exited the redistricting process relatively unscathed but with a reconfigured district to contend with, tops the list with $1.15 million on hand.  One storyline heading into the redistricting effort was that Codey would find himself in a heavily Republican district as his political enemies sought to send him packing from the Legislature.  The new district, while still predominantly Democratic, adds portions of conservative Morris County, which will force Codey to spend money campaigning in towns he has never represented.

State Senate President Steve Sweeney, who was the victor over Codey in the power struggle two years ago that resulted in Codey’s ouster from the presidency, is second on the list at $951,400.

The top five is rounded out by Democratic Senators Paul Sarlo, Shirley Turner and Bob Smith.

Sen. Joe Kyrillos, a confidante of Gov. Chris Christie, who has been mentioned on the short list of potential U.S. Senate candidates, comes in at number six, with $412,000 in his coffers, followed by Democratic Sen. Donald Norcross, brother of South Jersey power broker George Norcross III.

Another Republican comes in at number eight as Sen. Tom Kean Jr., another name on the list of potential Senate candidates, holds $319,000.  A Kean candidacy for  U.S. Senate would set up a rematch with incumbent Democrat Bob Menendez, who defeated Kean in 2006.

The only assemblyman to make the Top 10, Democrat Lou Greenwald enters the upcoming election season with $289,000 on hand.  Greenwald also is said to have ambitions for higher office.

The top 10 is rounded out by Democratic Sen. Nicholas Scutari.

1. Senator Richard J. Codey $ 1,152,100

2. Senator Stephen M. Sweeney $ 951,431

3. Senator Paul A. Sarlo $ 580,442

4. Senator Shirley K. Turner $ 533,380

5. Senator Bob Smith $ 440,947

6. Senator Joe Kyrillos, Jr. $ 412,185

7. Senator Donald W. Norcross $ 330,417

8. Senator Thomas H. Kean, Jr. $ 319,127

9. Assemblyman Louis D. Greenwald $ 289,855

10. Senator Nicholas P. Scutari $ 277,929 And the legislators with the deepest pockets are…