State names 21 educators to teacher evaluation pilot program

TRENTON – The Department of Education today announced the 21 education professionals who will serve on the state Evaluation Pilot

TRENTON – The Department of Education today announced the 21 education professionals who will serve on the state Evaluation Pilot Advisory Committee (EPAC) that will guide the department on the teacher evaluation pilot program for this school year.

Sign Up For Our Daily Newsletter

By clicking submit, you agree to our <a rel="nofollow noreferer" href="">terms of service</a> and acknowledge we may use your information to send you emails, product samples, and promotions on this website and other properties. You can opt out anytime.

See all of our newsletters

The group will also produce a recommendation for statewide rollout of a new teacher evaluation system. Additional EPAC members, representing all participating pilot districts and persistently low performing districts that have received federal School Improvement Grant (SIG) funds to implement change, will be added to the committee in the coming weeks, state officials said.

Earlier this month, the department announced the 10 districts selected to participate in the Excellent Educators for New Jersey (EE4NJ) teacher evaluation pilot program over the course of the 2011-12 school year, pending final review procedures.

The pilot districts were selected from among 31 applicants and will split $1.1 million in grant funds made available by the state. An eleventh district, Newark, will participate in the pilot through a separate grant.

“This pilot is an opportunity to work with educators across the state to develop a fair and meaningful evaluation system that will treat teachers like the professionals they are. And, the voice of educators is a crucial component in this development,” Acting Education Commissioner Chris Cerf said in a statement. “The Evaluation Pilot Advisory Committee is another opportunity to ensure that we are working with educators from across the state as we create a better system.”

The EPAC is made up of five teachers of various subjects and grades; three principals, two superintendents, one special education supervisor and other administrators; parents; private, charter, and vocational schools; and colleges/universities.

In addition, the EPAC will include one representative of each district participating in the pilot. EPAC meetings will be held monthly at the NJDOE in Trenton, with the first meeting held today.

The Education Department reported that each district will convene a District Evaluation Pilot Advisory Committee (DEPAC). These committees will consist of district educators and other individuals representing important stakeholders in the evaluation system and school community.

Each DEPAC must appoint one of these members to also serve on the state EPAC and attend monthly meetings at the NJDOE.

The EPAC members are:

Ms. Marie Bilik
Executive Director, New Jersey School Boards Association


Mr. Carl Blanchard
National Board Certified Teacher
Biology Teacher, Franklin High School


Ms. Jeanne Delcolle
Burlington County Teacher of the Year
History Teacher, Burlington County Institute of Technology


Ms. Patricia Donaghue
Parent, Toms River, NJ


Ms. Carol Everett
Executive Director, New Jersey Association of Independent Schools


Dr. Dorothy Feola
President, New Jersey Association of Colleges for Teacher Education; Associate Dean, College of Education, William Paterson University


Ms. Darleen Gearhart
Director, School Improvement Grants, Newark Public Schools


Mr. Timothy Matheny
Principal, South Brunswick High School


Ms. Eileen Matus
Retired Principal, Toms River Regional School District


Ms. Elizabeth Morgan
National Board Certified Teacher

English Language Arts Teacher, Ann A. Mullen Middle School


Dr. Brian Osbourne
Superintendent, South Orange-Maplewood Schools


Mr. Richard Panicucci
Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum – Vo-Tech, Bergen County Technical Schools/Special Services

Ms. Meredith Pennotti
Principal, Red Bank Charter School


Ms. Judith Rattner
Superintendent, Berkeley Heights Public Schools


Dr. Vivian Rodriguez
Assistant Superintendent, Perth Amboy School District


Dr. Sharon Sherman
Dean, School of Education, Rider University


Ms. Peggy Stewart
Chair, Professional Teaching Standards Board
History Teacher, Center for Teaching and Learning


Ms. Belinda Stokes
Principal, Henry Snyder High School


Dr. Dorothy Strickland
New Jersey State Board of Education
Samuel DeWitt Proctor Professor of Education, State of New Jersey Professor of Reading, Emerita, Rutgers University


Mr. Bruce Taterka
U.S. Teaching Ambassador Fellow
Lead Teacher of Science and Technology, West Morris Mendham High School


Ms. Patricia Wright
Consultant; Retired Superintendent/Principal; Spring Lake


State names 21 educators to teacher evaluation pilot program