League of Conservation Voters releases endorsements

The New Jersey League of Conservation Voters (NJLCV) today announced endorsements in the November 2011 state legislative elections. 

“We felt it was important to identify legislators who have distinguished themselves as defenders of the environment,” said Debbie Mans, chair of the NJLCV.  “With the entire Senate and Assembly up for re-election this year, the results will likely determine whether vital environmental laws will stay on the books, or whether they will be scaled back.”

Mans said Gov. Chris Christie’s decision to withdraw the state from the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI) as well as pending legislation to prohibit  the N.J. Department of Environmental Protection from exceeding federal minimum standards are just two recent examples of the political reality faced by environmental advocates.

“New Jersey’s environment is in jeopardy by a prolonged economic downturn, unprecedented state fiscal challenges and a state government intent on rolling back many environmental regulations and initiatives,” added Carleton Montgomery, chair of the NJLCV Policy Committee.  “Our response is to provide voters another tool to help make informed decisions about who is the best choice to send to Trenton to safeguard our land, water, air, wildlife and communities.”

Montgomery noted that the NJLCV evaluated the environmental performance of candidates seeking office in the November state legislative elections by scoring key environmental votes and by distributing and evaluating the results of a 12-question policy survey.

The NJLCV is a non-partisan, non-profit, public education, policy making and political action organization that works to make environmental protection a top priority with elected officials, decision-makers and the voters.   To learn more, visit www.njlcv.org.

NJLCV Endorsements for November State Legislative Elections

Assemblyman Herb Conaway – LD 7
Senator Linda Greenstein – LD 14
Assemblyman Daniel Benson – LD 14
Assemblyman Reed Gusciora – LD 15
Senator Bob Smith – LD 17
Senator Barbara Buono – LD 18
Senator Joe Vitale – LD 19
Assemblywoman Mila Jasey – LD 27
Assemblyman John McKeon – LD 27
Assemblywoman Nellie Pou – LD 35

Senator Loretta Weinberg – LD 37
Assemblywoman Valerie Vaineiri Huttle – LD 37

Senator Robert Gordon – LD 38
Assemblywoman Connie Wagner – LD 38 League of Conservation Voters releases endorsements