Federal aid OK’d for 8 N.J. storm-wracked counties

TRENTON – The federal government has approved disaster assistance for eight New Jersey counties affected by the severe early-season storm in late October.

The counties of Cape May, Essex, Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren have been approved for aid under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance Program, Gov. Christie’s office announced.

In addition, federal funding is available for Hazard Mitigation and risk reduction measures in all 21 counties affected by Oct. 29 snowstorm.

“This storm presented significant challenges to local governments, including debris clearance requiring public works and public safety expenditures, well before our normal winter storm season even began,”  Christie said in a release.

Eligibility under the Public Assistance Program allows the state, county and local governments, and certain eligible private nonprofit organizations to apply for assistance on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storm. New Jersey Office of Emergency Management officials are scheduling meetings in the designated counties regarding the application process.

Federal aid OK’d for 8 N.J. storm-wracked counties