Rothman makes it official – will run in 9th

U.S. Rep. Steve Rothman made it official this afternoon that he plans to run for re-election in the newly configured 9th District, rather than in the new 5th District where he now lives.

“I have represented the Ninth Congressional District for the past 15 years and have lived here nearly my entire life. I look forward to continuing to represent this district,” said Congressman Rothman. “We must continue fighting for the Democratic values that we all share – expanding opportunity for every American; getting our economy back on track; protecting middle class taxpayers, seniors and families; and keeping our beloved nation safe. We have more work to do together and I look forward to continuing to work for the people of Bergen, Hudson, and Passaic Counties and earning each of their votes on Election Day.”

In a release, Rothman said he currently represents 55 percent of the residents of the redrawn district, which is a combination of Rothman’s 9th District and Bill Pascrell’s 8th district.

According to the release, Rothman has the support of the Bergen County Democratic Organization and its Chairman Lou Stellato.

“Steve has the overwhelming support of nearly every Democratic Mayor and Municipal Leader in the 29 Bergen and Hudson County towns in the Ninth Congressional District,” said  Stellato. “Steve is an outstanding Congressman who has delivered nearly $2 billion in federal funding for New Jersey. We cannot afford to lose him.”

Rothman was the odd man out when the new congressional map was finalized as his hometown of Fair Lawn was placed in a district with Republican U.S. Rep. Scott Garrett.  That new district would favor Garrett by about four points based on past election performance.

On Friday, PolitickerNJ reported that sources said Rothman was considering the challenge and Monday, the Star Ledger reported Democratic sources said Rothman had decided to face Pascrell rather than go after Garrett in an unfriendly district.

It’s unknown if Garrett will face a challenge in the newly configured 5th District.

The Rothman camp also released an extensive list of area politicos who already have endorsed the displaced Democratic representative in his primary bid:


Chairman Lou Stellato –Bergen

Chairman Mark Smith-Hudson

Vice Chairwoman Kay Nest- Bergen


NJ Senator Robert Gordon

NJ Senator Nicholas Sacco

NJ Senator Paul Sarlo

NJ Senator Loretta Weinberg



Assemblywoman Valerie Huttle

Assemblywoman Connie Wagner

Assemblyman Gordon Johnson

Assemblyman-Elect Tim Eustace

Assemblywoman Joan Voss

Assemblyman Vincent Prieto



Hudson County Executive Tom DeGise

Hudson County Sheriff Frank Schillari

Bergen County Clerk John Hogan 






Mayor Gerald Calabrese Sr., Cliffside Park

Mayor James Delaney,  Edgewater

Mayor Frank Huttle III, Englewood

Mayor Joseph Parisi, Englewood Cliffs

Mayor Vincent Bellucci, Fairview

Mayor Mark Sokolich, Fort Lee

Mayor-Elect John DeSimone, Leonia

Mayor Mauro Raguseo, Little Ferry

Mayor Richard DiLascio, Lyndhurst

Mayor Dennis Vaccaro, Moonachie

Mayor Pete Massa, North Arlington

Mayor James Rotundo, Palisades Park

Mayor Walter Eckel, South Hackensack

Mayor Mohamed Hameeduddin, Teaneck

Mayor Peter Rustin, Tenafly

Mayor Walter Wargacki, Wallington

Mayor Paul Sarlo, Wood-Ridge

Mayor Michael Gonnelli, Secaucus

Mayor Al Santos, Kearny



Municipal Chairs



Lorraine Joewono, Carlstadt

Gerald Calabrese Jr., Cliffside Park

Andrew “Chuck” Vaccaro, Cresskill

Richard DeLauro, East Rutherford

Anne Marie O’Connor, Edgewater

Estelle Rondello, Elmwood Park

Teresa Thomas, Englewood

Pat Drimones, Englewood Cliffs

Paul Juliano, Fairview

Kay Nest, Fort Lee

Bryan Walensky, Garfield

Alice Vega, Hasbrouck Heights

Robert Leap, Leonia

Mauro Raguseo, Little Ferry

Lou Stellato, Lyndhurst

Fred Dressel, Moonachie

Nick Antonicello Sr., North Arlington

Mike Pollotta, Palisades Park

Philip Peredo, Saddle Brook

James Anzevino, South Hackensack

Laura Zucker, Teaneck

Shama Haider, Tenafly

Liz Calabrese, Wallington

Bob Riccardella, Wood-Ridge

Nicholas Goldsack, Secaucus

Al Santos, Kearny

Rothman makes it official – will run in 9th