Special-needs housing funding set

TRENTON – More than $10 million will be used for special-needs housing in 12 municipalities, the Christie administration said today.

The towns include Brick Township, Denville Township, Edison Township, Florham Park Borough, Hanover Township, Jackson Township, North Brunswick Township, Parsippany Township, Randolph Township, Roxbury Township, Washington Township (Morris County), and Wayne Township. Several other towns are in active discussions with the DCA and could begin participating as early as next month.

The goal of the program is to create 600 additional special-needs housing units by 2013, the Christie administration said.

The 12 municipalities will contribute $5.1 million, which will be matched by the New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency, generating $10.2 million for housing.

The municipalities will use the money to create affordable, supportive housing for people with developmental disabilities.  At a maximum cost of $500,000 per residential property, a minimum of 20 homes can be purchased with the funds committed by the municipalities and HMFA to date, according to the Department of Community Affairs and the governor’s office.

The DCA began the Special Needs Housing Partnership program in May with the Department of Human Services and the HMFA in order to expand housing opportunities and expedite the process of placing individuals with developmental disabilities into community-based supportive housing.

“The Partnership encourages towns to use money they already have at their disposal to create affordable housing for people who are among the most vulnerable citizens in our community,” DCA Commissioner Lori Grifa said in a release.





Municipal Partner Funding Commitments


Municipal Partner

Funding Commitment

Brick Township


Denville Township


Edison Township


Florham Park Borough


Hanover Township

$775,000, including a three-acre lot for use

Jackson Township


North Brunswick Township


Parsippany Township


Randolph Township


Roxbury Township


Washington Township (Morris County)


Wayne Township



  Special-needs housing funding set