Rothman formally unveils campaign team in CD9

U.S. Rep. Steve Rothman (D-9) today announced his campaign team for the Democratic Primary in the 9th Congressional District, a group of veteran local campaign professionals with experience in Bergen, Hudson and Passaic Counties.

Running in a Democratic Primary against U.S. Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-9), the congressman also announced the endorsements of 90 Democratic town council members from Bergen and Hudson counties, reprinted below.

“I’m very proud of the team we have put together. They possess all the qualities necessary for us to win this election – experience, talent, organizational skills and a willingness to work extremely hard,” said Rothman. “With this excellent team in place and the grassroots support we have attracted from throughout the 9th district I am confident we will do what is needed to make sure I can continue to represent my friends and neighbors and fight for their interests in Washington.”

Paul Swibinski of Vision Media Political will serve as the campaign’s General Consultant and Media Consultant. 

Jeff Plaut of Global Strategies Group will serve as Polling Consultant.   

Chris Eilert will serve as the Campaign Manager and Senior Strategist. He is Sen. Paul Sarlo’s Chief of Staff.

Adam Silverstein will serve as the campaign’s Communications Director and Senior Strategist. He has served as the Bergen County Field Director for the last eight years and has run successful campaigns across the state.

Tom Bertoli will serve as the campaign’s Field Director and Vote by Mail Coordinator.  Bertoli is a veteran field operative who wrote the book on Hudson County GOTV and specializes in urban field programs. 

Matt Rose will serve as the Campaign Coordinator. He is on leave from his position as Congressman Rothman’s Deputy District Director.

Stephanie Wohlrab will serve as the Finance Committee Chair. She serves as a fundraiser for numerous state legislators including Sens. Loretta Weinberg, Ray Lesniak and Dick Codey. Wohlrab will focus on fundraising within New Jersey.

The Angerholzer Team is a political fundraising firm that specializes in House Politics.  Lindsay Angerholzer, President of the firm, has been in Democratic fundraising for over 10 years. 

Scott Snyder will serve as a Field and GOTV Consultant.   

Rothman also announced the endorsement of 90 council members from throughout the 9th Congressional district. They join an already impressive group of local endorsers, including the Democratic Chairmen in Bergen and Hudson counties, twelve state legislators and a slew of mayors and local Democratic chairpersons. The complete list is below. 

Here is the complete list of council endorsers:


Cliffside Park

Bernard Fontana, Councilmember

Donna Spoto, Councilmember

Thomas Calabrese, Council President

Kenneth Corcoran, Councilmember

Dana Martinotti, Councilmember

Lawrence Bongard, Councilmember



Kathleen Savas, Councilmember




David Jordan, Councilmember

Vincent Monte, Councilmember

 Neda Rose, Council President

Kevin Doran, Councilmember

Luis Vidal, Councilmember

Michael Henwood, Councilmember






Lynne Algrant, Councilmember

Marc Forman, Councilmember

Michael Cohen, Councilmember

Eugene Skurnick, Councilmember

Jack Drakeford, Councilmember



Englewood Cliffs



Joseph Favaro, Council President

Ilan Plawker, Councilmember

Melanie Simon, Councilmember

Edward Aversa, Councilmember

Gloria Oh, Councilmember



Fort Lee



Joseph Cercieri Jr., Council President

Harvey Sohmer, Councilmember

Jan Goldberg, Councilmember

Ila Kasofsky, Councilmember

Armand Pohan, Councilmember

Michael Sargenti, Councilmember




Peter Knott, Council President

Philip Choi, Councilmember

Gilbert Hawkins, Councilmember

Douglas Salmon, Councilmember



Little Ferry



Ronald Anzalone, Council President

George Muller, Councilmember

Thomas Sarlo, Councilmember

Sue Schuck, Councilmember

Margaret Steinhilber, Councilmember

Roberta Henriquez, Councilmember






Joseph Abruscato, Commissioner

Thomas DiMaggio, Commissioner

Robert Giangeruso, Commissioner

Brian Haggerty, Commissioner






Bruce Surak, Council President

Lucille Millar, Councilmember

Robert Bauer Sr., Councilmember

Kathleen Kinsella, Councilmember

Maureen Flynn, Councilmember

Manuel Martinez, Councilmember



North Arlington



Steven Tanelli, Councilmember

Mark Yampaglia, Councilmember



Palisades Park



Jason Kim, Deputy Mayor

Jong Chul Lee, Council President

Joseph Testa, Councilmember

Henry Ruh, Councilmember

Frank Donohue, Councilmember

Cynthia Pirrera, Councilmember






Hugo Jimenez, Councilmember

Javier Acosta, Councilmember

Russell Castelli, Council President






Kimberly Birdsall, Councilmember



Saddle Brook



Florence Mazzer, Councilmember

Joseph Setticase, Councilmember



South Hackensack



Frank Cagas, Deputy Mayor

Walter Eckel Jr., Township Committee Member

William Regan, Township Committee Member






Adam Gussen, Deputy Mayor

Monica Honis, Councilmember

Elie Katz, Councilmember

Lizette Parker, Councilmember

BarbaraLey Toffler, Councilmember

Titz Stern, Councilmember






Mark Zinna, Councilmember






Mark Tomko, Council President

Roman Kruk, Councilmember

Katherine Polten, Councilmember






Dominick Azzolini, Councilmember

Ezio Altamura, Councilmember

Catherine Cassidy, Councilmember

Joseph DiMarco, Councilmember

Thomas Gonnella, Councilmember

Edward Marino, Councilmember






Alexa Arce, Councilmember

Albino Cardoso, Councilmember

Madeline Peyko, Councilmember

LauraCifelli-Pettigrew, Councilmember

Carol Jean Doyle, Councilmember

Eileen Eckel, Councilmember

Michael Land, Councilmember

Susan McCurrie, Councilmember

  Rothman formally unveils campaign team in CD9