Lineup for Crossing Brooklyn Ferry, BAM Music Festival Curated by The National, Announced

In January, the Brooklyn Academy of Music announced that they’d be hosting a three-day music festival, Crossing Brooklyn Ferry (named for the Walt Whitman poem) curated by the Bryce Dessner and Aaron Dessner of Brooklyn-based “indie” megagroup The National. Today, they announced the lineup. Surprisingly, no performance by The National! But a bunch of other bands—quite a few from Brooklyn, of course—will be there.

Those bands are:


  • The Walkmen
  • Sharon Van Etten
  • Twin Shadow
  • Jherek Bischoff
  • Zs
  • Callers
  • People Get Ready
  • yMusic
  • JACK Quartet


  • St. Vincent
  • The Antlers
  • Tyondai Braxton
  • Buke and Gase
  • Sinkane
  • Ava Luna
  • Missy Mazzoli and Victoire
  • NOW Ensemble
  • Hubble
  • Joakim


  • Beirut
  • Atlas Sound
  • My Brightest Diamond
  • yMusic
  • Caveman
  • Oneohtrix Point Never
  • Janka Nabay & the Bubu Gang
  • Skeletons
  • Brooklyn Youth Chorus
  • The Yehudim
  • Benjamin Lanz
  • DJ Set by Pat Mahoney and Nancy Whang (previously of LCD Soundsystem)


Not to say we told you so, but: some of the biggest acts in the festival (Sharon Van Etten, St. Vincent, My Brightest Diamond) made appearences as opening acts or onstage with The National during their six-night run at the Beacon Theater in December.

For what it’s worth, this marks one of the largest rock festivals ever to be held in the borough’s confines. While it might not reach Kraftwerk-levels of entry-point scouring desperation, it should be a hot ticket no less (and if anything, makes the recently-announced Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago look downright bush-league*).

For matters of context, and because footage of their most culturally significant live performance is difficult to embed, here is a video of The Walkmen playing “The Rat”, a pretty great song:

[*Except for Cloud Nothings, obviously. They’re pretty great.] | @weareyourfek Lineup for Crossing Brooklyn Ferry, BAM Music Festival Curated by The National, Announced