Fewer towns to receive transitional assistance

TRENTON – Mark down Chesilhurst, Lawnside and Asbury Park as towns that will no longer receive aid under the designation of Transitional Aid.

Rather, they will receive municipal aid just like most towns, or CMPTRA funds. The Department of Community Affairs identified those municipalities and said they do “not have to apply for Transitional Aid in the next year or two.”

The proposed Fiscal Year 2013 budget calls for $113.7 million for the Transitional Aid program, helping approximately 10 towns.

The smaller list, according to DCA said, is consistent with Gov. Christie’s vision of the program to serve “as a temporary program for municipalities who are transitioning to self-sufficiency.”

Just two years ago, there were 22 municipalities in the program.

Christie’s budget for fiscal year 2013 called for no cuts in state aid. The list of municipalities, and how much they are anticipated to receive, were released last night.

The new municipal state aid figures are available on the DCA’s website at:



Fewer towns to receive transitional assistance