Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously releases 17 reappointment nominations

TRENTON – Senate lawmakers released 17 Superior Court judges nominated for reappointment Monday morning.

The Senate Judiciary Committee spent less than an hour breezing through the 17 renominations. Lawmakers voted unanimously to release all the candidates for renomination.

Committee Chairman Sen. Nicholas Scutari, (D-22), Linden, told the judges “it’s not just because of the sheer volume of the renominations” that spurred lawmakers to move quickly through the interviews with little discussion, rather he credited the judges’ good work as the reason for the seamless renomination process.

The only judge to receive some scrutiny was Judge John Langan Jr., of Bergen, who was questioned briefly by Sen. Kevin O’Toole, (R-40), Cedar Grove.

O’Toole first asked about a complaint filed against Langan by a man the judge ruled against. Langan confirmed a complaint was filed but said it was eventually dropped.

“Why do you think you should be reappointed?” O’Toole asked Langan, who responded by saying, “I work hard, I’m fair.”

“Is that the standard of reappointment as far as your concerned, that you’re compassionate and that you work hard?” O’Toole responded.

Despite the pointed questioning, O’Toole voted in favor of releasing Langan.

The full Senate is slated to vote on the judicial reappointments Thursday.

Judge Torkwase Sekou, of Essex, was not nominated for reappointment by Gov. Chris Christie. The following judges were released today:

-Robert Brennan (Morris Township)

-John Call Jr. (Moorestown)

-Jeanne Covert (Moorestown)

-Richard English (Oakhurst)

-Marianne Espinosa (Summit)

-Michael Guadagno (Monmouth Beach)

-James Hyland Jr. (East Brunswick)

-Walter Koprowski Jr. (Verona)

-Thomas LaConte (Wayne)

-John Langan Jr. (Allendale)

-Verna Leath (South Orange)

-Colleen Maier (Wenonah)

-John Mullaney Jr. (Middletown)

-Ned Rosenberg (West Caldwell)

-Siobhan Teare (East Orange)

-Menelaos Toskos (Waldwick)

-Thomas Weisenbeck (Morris Township)

Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously releases 17 reappointment nominations