National Arts Awards Go to James Rosenquist, Paul Allen

Americans for the Arts today released the names of the luminaries that will receives its annual National Arts Awards, which will be presented at a dinner on Oct. 15 at Cipriani on East 42nd Street.

The winners are as follows:

Eli & Edythe Broad Award for Philanthropy in the Arts
Paul G. Allen, Microsoft co-founder and philanthropist

Isabella and Theodor Dalenson Lifetime Achievement Award
James Rosenquist, artist

Outstanding Contributions to the Arts Award
Brian Stokes Mitchell, performer and chairman of the board of the Actor’s Fund

Bell Family Foundation Young Artist Award
Josh Groban, singer, songwriter, actor and founder of the Find Your Light Foundation

Arts Education Award
Lin Arison, co-founder of the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts and YoungArts

The five winners will each take home a magnificent statuette that was designed by Jeff Koons in 2010, presented below. Click it to see an even larger version. And then imagine Richard Serra, who is one of the evening’s presenters, handing it to one of the lucky winners. Pretty awesome.

The award, which was designed by Koons. (Courtesy Americans for the Arts)
National Arts Awards Go to James Rosenquist, Paul Allen