Monmouth Dems release full list of endorsements for Buono

Chairman Vin Gopal today announced the unanimous endorsement of the Monmouth County Democratic Party Executive Committee along with over 75 municipal chairs and committee chairs from throughout the Monmouth County Democratic Party Organization in support of Senator Barbara Buono for Governor of New Jersey.

“I am pleased that over 40 municipal leaders will join me in supporting the candidacy of Barbara Buono as the next Governor of New Jersey,” Gopal said. “She has the guts, the independence, the courage and the will to take on Chris Christie toe to toe on every single issue. As the 4th largest county in the state with over 100,000 registered Democrats, we look forward to aggressively supporting Senator Buono for Governor. This past election cycle, we defeated eight Republican incumbents here in Monmouth County and not a single Democrat was defeated anywhere in the county. We look forward to building on that this November with Barbara Buono at the top of the ticket.”

Monmouth County Democratic Party leaders offered their quotes of support to Buono. 

“As a candidate on the ballot this November in a competitive re-election, I look forward to campaigning alongside Barbara Buono. She is gutsy, progressive on social issues and as Budget Chair, she cut nearly $5 billion but still prioritized spending for public education and healthcare,” said Red Bank Councilwoman Kathy Horgan.

“Over the past several years, I have had the privilege of getting to know Senator Buono on a personal level, and in speaking with others about the Senator, there is one word that I have consistently used – genuine – a trait that can sometimes seem tragically rare in our nation’s highest offices. I am deeply confident that the more that our state’s voters get to know her history and what she has been fighting for her entire career – from a progressive education policy to women’s economic empowerment to critical measures against bigotry – the more that they will see what I and others have had the privilege of seeing first-hand,” said Sami H. Elmansoury, a New Jersey small business owner and active Monmouth County Democrat residing in Marlboro. 

“Senator Barbara Buono is someone who came up from modest means to become a State Senator – worked three full-time jobs to put herself through college, sometimes not knowing where her next meal would come from. She graduated from law school and chose to became a public defender instead of a corporate attorney. Her struggle and her deeply-rooted values connect with working-class residents across Asbury Park,” said Asbury Park Democratic Party Municipal Chairman Joe Grillo

“Barbara Buono provides a unique and clear contrast to Chris Christie. I look forward to watching her take him on in the debates and represent what the Democratic Party stands for,” said Hazlet Township Mayor Joe Belasco. 

Executive Committee Endorsement

Chairman Vin Gopal (Long Branch)
Vice-Chairwoman Mary Foster (Middletown)
Executive Director Giuseppe ‘Joe’ Grillo (Asbury Park)
Treasurer David Brown (Long Branch)
Recording Secretary Luis Pulido (Belmar)
Sgt-At-Arms Joe Caliendo (Middletown)
Regional Chair Ed Zipprich (Red Bank)
Regional Chair Eric Brophy (Wall)
Regional Chair Ray Santiago (Freehold)
Regional Chair Joy Tomczak (Keyport)
Deputy Corresponding Secretary Michelle Roth (Manalapan)
Voter Outreach Chair Mike Ryan (Lake Como)
Parliamentarian Allen Falk
GOTV Coordinator Bill Robinson
Women’s Caucus Co-Chairs Retha Onitiri (Millstone) and Patricia Teffenhart (Holmdel)

Aberdeen Municipal Chairman Greg Cannon
Allentown Municipal Chairwoman Alice Lloyd
Asbury Park Municipal Chairman Giuseppe ‘Joe’ Grillo
Atlantic Highlands Municipal Chairman 
Belmar Municipal Chairman Luis Pulido
Bradley Beach Mayor Julie Shreck
Brielle Municipal Chairman John Pirnat
Colts Neck Municipal Chairman Jerry Ceres
Eatontown Municipal Chairman Carl Sohl
Fair Haven Municipal Chairman Matt Cohen
Farmingdale Municipal Chairman Jan Zientek
Freehold Township Chairwoman JJ Mistretta 
Hazlet Municipal Chairman Andy Bace
Highlands Councilwoman Becky Kane
Holmdel Municipal Chairman Tony Orsini
Howell Municipal Chairman Steve Morlino
Keansburg Municipal Chairman John McCarthy
Keyport Councilwoman Joy Tomczak
Lake Como Municipal Chairman Mike Ryan
Little Silver Municipal Leader Allison Make
Manalapan Municipal Chairman Gerry Ward
Matawan Municipal Chairwoman Adele Sammarco
Millstone Municipal Chairman Brian Dorf
Middletown Municipal Chairman Don Watson
Neptune Municipal Chairman Jim Mowczan
Oceanport Municipal Chairman Randy Wolf
Ocean Township Municipal Chairwoman Janice Robins
Red Bank Municipal Chairman Ed Zipprich
Roosevelt Municipal Chairwoman Ann Baker
Rumson Municipal Chairman Michael Steinhorn
Sea Girt Municipal Chairwoman Altha Morton
Shrewsbury Municipal Chairwoman Norma Rosenbloom
Spring Lake Municipal Chairman Tom Byrne
Spring Lake Heights Chairwoman Fran Enright
Union Beach Municipal Chairman Ken Connors
Upper Freehold Municipal Chairwoman Debbie Henderson
Wall Township Municipal Chairman Eric Brophy

Monmouth County Freeholder John D’Amico
Monmouth County Freeholder Amy Mallet
Former Monmouth County Surrogate Patricia Bennett

Asbury Park Deputy Mayor John Loffredo
Asbury Park Councilwoman Sue Henderson
Hazlet Mayor Joe Belasco
Highlands Councilman Christopher Francy
Keyport Councilwoman Joy Tomczak
Middletown Democrats Executive Board Member Mike Morris
Lake Como Mayor Mike Ryan
Neptune Township Committeeman Randy Bishop
Ocean Township Young Democrats Executive Board Donald Yacavone
Red Bank Councilwoman Kathy Horgan
Roosevelt Borough Mayor Beth Battel
Farmingdale Borough Councilwoman Carly Immen
Former Manalapan Mayor Michelle Roth

Monmouth Dems release full list of endorsements for Buono