Allen introduces trio of firearms penalty bills

TRENTON – Sen. Diane Allen introduced a package of firearms-related bills Thursday.

The bills S2706-08, deal with various aspects of gun crimes and have companions in the Assembly.

S2706 would increase penalties for firearms dealers who knowingly provide firearms to persons who transfer them to individuals who are disqualified from possessing a firearm.

S2707 would make firearms traffickers subject to the No Early Release act.

Such felons must serve 85 percent of their term before being eligible for parole.

S2708 would make cars or other vehicles used in firearms crimes subject to forfeiture and seizure.

The Assembly versions were introduced in February. Allen introduces trio of firearms penalty bills