Transport Workers Endorse in City Council Races

As the campaign season rumbles towards the September 10 primary date, unions are placing their thumb on the scale in

TWU Local 100's logo. (Photo: Facebook)
TWU Local 100’s logo. (Photo: Facebook)

As the campaign season rumbles towards the September 10 primary date, unions are placing their thumb on the scale in an attempt to elect candidates sympathetic to their interests. Accordingly, the Transport Workers Union Local 100, comprising 38,000 bus and subway employees, released a  wide range of endorsements today for City Council races across the five boroughs.

“TWU Local 100 is proud to announce our support for candidates who are the strongest Public Transportation and Labor candidates in their respective races,” union president John Samuelsen said in a statement. “Every candidate was carefully screened by a team of Union officers and staff, and each person we are supporting demonstrated great knowledge and commitment to working with our union to improve public transit in New York.”

Mr. Samuelsen added, “TWU Local 100 will do everything we can to get them elected.”

The TWU endorsement list, which can be viewed in full below, contains many incumbents and Council hopefuls who have already coalesced the majority of other labor endorsements. There are some exceptions, however. For example, differing with the labor-backed Working Families Party, TWU threw support to Upper East Side candidate Ben Kallos over Assemblyman Micah Kellner, Brooklyn incumbent Sara Gonzalez over challenger Carlos Menchaca and Yetta Kurland over Corey Johnson for the Manhattan race to replace Speaker Christine Quinn.

The union is currently silent in three races as well: Councilwoman Margaret Chin’s re-election bid and the open-seat contests for outgoing Council members Gale Brewer and Oliver Koppell.

View the full list:

District 2: Rosie Mendez
District 3: Yetta Kurland
District 4: Daniel Garodnick
District 5: Benjamin Kallos
District 7: Mark Levine
District 8: Melissa Mark-Viverito
District 9: Inez Dickens
District 10: Ydanis Rodriguez
District 12: Andy King
District 13: James Vacca
District 14: Fernando Cabrera
District 15: Ritchie Torres
District 16: Vanessa Gibson
District 18: Annabel Palma
District 19: Austin Shafran
District 21: Julissa Ferreras
District 22: Costa Constantinides
District 23: Mark Weprin
District 24: Rory Lancman
District 25: Daniel Dromm
District 26: Jimmy Van Bramer
District 27: Daneek Miller
District 29: Karen Koslowitz
District 30: Elizabeth Crowley
District 31: Donovan Richards
District 32: Eric Ulrich
District 34: Antonio Reynoso
District 35: Laurie Cumbo
District 36: Robert Cornegy Jr.
District 37: Rafael Espinal
District 38: Sara Gonzalez
District 39: Brad Lander
District 40: Mathieu Eugene
District 41: Darlene Mealy
District 42: Inez Barron
District 43: Vincent Gentile
District 45: Jumaane Williams
District 46: Alan Maisel
District 47: Mark Treyger
District 48: Ari Kagan
District 49: Debi Rose

Transport Workers Endorse in City Council Races