Dems name members to health care exchange task force

TRENTON – Democrats today named eight state lawmakers to the legislative task force that will oversee implementation of the health insurance marketplace that is part of the Affordable Care Act.

Named to the panel were Sens. Nia Gill, Fred Madden, Joseph Vitale and Loretta Weinberg. Named to the panel from the Assembly were Herb Conaway, Angel Fuentes, Gary Schaer and Valerie Vainieri Huttle.

Gov. Chris Christie had decided to let the federal government, not the state government, run the health care exchange that is supposed to help consumers and employers find affordable insurance.

“Since the Affordable Care Act provides for states to take over management of the marketplace, the Legislature must continue to be informed and involved in the process. This task force will allow the Legislature to track progress of the marketplace and to respond legislatively if necessary,” Gill said in a release.

“Our goal as a state must be to ensure that the 1.3 million uninsured, the underinsured and small businesses seeking affordable options are able to access quality coverage.”

Under the authorizing legislation, (SCR144/ACR184), the task force membership consists of the chairpersons of the Senate Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens Committee, the Senate Commerce Committee, the Assembly Health and Senior Services Committee, and the Assembly Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee.

The measure additionally called for two appointments from each of the Senate President, Assembly Speaker, Senate and Assembly Minority Leaders.

Dems name members to health care exchange task force