Essex County Roundup: Dem Chairman Jones unveils candidates

Essex County Democratic Committee Chairman, LeRoy J. Jones, Jr. along with the Essex County Delegation, county-wide elected officials, municipal chairs, and local state committee representatives welcomed this year’s candidates at an executive board meeting held last night at Essex County College in Newark.

“I believe that this year’s candidates represent the diversity that is in Essex County and I express my gratitude to the members of the board of chosen freeholders who will be retiring this year, each one of you have served over the years with great distinction,” said Jones as he acknowledged each person by name, including Freeholder President Blonnie Watson, Freeholder Bilal Beasley, Freeholder Carol Clark, and Freeholder Gerald Owens.  

“As I complete my final year as a Freeholder, although I am looking forward to my retirement, my years of service have been rewarding.  I can proudly look back at all that has been accomplished during my tenure and I expect this good work to be continued through the new freeholders and wish all of them success,” said Freeholder President Watson.


U.S. Senate:   

 Cory Booker

U.S. House of Representatives:

            7th Congressional District        Janice Kovach

            8th Congressional District        Albio Sires

            10th Congressional District      Donald M. Payne, Jr.

            11th Congressional District      Mark S. Dunec

County Executive:

Joseph N. DiVincenzo

Register of Deeds & Mortgages:

            Dana Rone

Freeholders At-Large:

            Patricia Sebold

            Rufus Johnson

            Brendan Gill

            Lebby Jones

            District One     Rolando Bobadilla

            District Two    Wayne Richarson

            District Three  Britnee Timberlake

            District Four    Leonard Luciano

            District Five    Cynthia Toro


Lebby C. Jones

A longtime resident of the Township of Irvington, Lebby C. Jones’ electoral career began in the 1980′s, when she won the post of South Ward District Leader (S-8). Having secured re-election for numerous consecutive terms, she retains the post today. Following her appointment as the South Ward Council Member in 1994, Lebby C. Jones was elected to the position in 1996. In 1998, she was elected as an At-Large Council Member and re-elected in 2002 and 2006 again in 2010. Her public service career includes: former membership with the Irvington Board of Education, for which she served as president from 1993-1994; presidency and board membership of the NAACP Irvington branch; presidency of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Association of Irvington; presidency of the Laventhal Avenue Block Association; membership with the Irvington Anti-Graffiti Task Force; and membership with the Irvington Taxicab Commission.

Wayne Richarson

Wayne Richarson is the president of local 55 and has been a longtime construction worker. He is also a member of the Newark chapter of the NAACP where he was presented the 2013 Donald M. Payne, Sr. Political Action Award for his statewide advocacy on behalf of working families as well as his efforts to increase voter registration and participation in elections.

Richardson worked for many years in construction and light production. In 2004, Wayne began working for the Laborers, at River Terminal in South Kearney. Then in 2006 Wayne was hired as a business agent for Laborers Local 108 in New York City, insuring that workers’ issues were addressed and resolved according to contract. He went on to work for the Laborers Eastern Region Organizing Fund (L E R O F), under which he served as a community organizer for G.A.N.E.  (Garden State Alliance for a New Economy), a member organization of the Partnership for Working Families.

Britnee Timberlake

Britnee Timberlake has a Bachelors of Arts and Sciences in Political Science with a minor in Religious Studies, and a Masters of Public Administration concentration in Nonprofit Management all from Seton Hall University. She is a AmeriCorps alumni and a current student of EmergeNJ. She is the founding Executive Director of a nonprofit affordable housing organization called the Essex Community Land Trust (ECLT), and the owner of a mission driven catering company named Britnee, LLC. The ECLT supports the creation of permanent high quality affordable housing throughout the diverse municipalities of Essex County.

Cynthia Toro

Cynthia Toro is a current resident and district leader in Bloomfield. She is a graduate of Montclair State University with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology & Justice Studies. She is pursuing a graduate degree in Social Work from Rutgers University. She has worked in Employment Services for the State of New Jersey and has served as a commissioner of the Essex County Improvement Authority.

Essex County Roundup: Dem Chairman Jones unveils candidates