New York Universities Ban Travel to Ebola Stricken Countries

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 2.31.26 PM
N.Y.U is one of the city’s universities prohibiting students from traveling to countries affected by ebola (Photo credit: Jpellgen/Flickr Creative Commons)

NYU sent out a university-wide email Monday banning students, staff and faculty from visiting Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Liberia due to widespread concern regarding the Ebola virus.

“Exceptions may be made on a case-by-case basis” NYU stated in an email to the Observer. “Those who are committed to personal travel to countries under the CDC travel warnings to be in touch with the Student Health Center (SHC) prior to making your plans.”

The restrictions are in line with the Center for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines and the university reserves the right to restrict additional countries in the future should the CDC see fit.

Housing visitors from these areas is also “strongly discouraged for the time being” according to the email.

NYU assures students and faculty that the university is equipped with negative-pressure isolation rooms Student Health Service center for those believed to be infected with the virus. The staff has also recently been trained to identify potential Ebola outbreaks.

Cornell and Columbia University sent out similar travel policies last week. “Accordingly, all Columbia students, faculty, and staff must avoid travel to Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Liberia. Students will not receive credit or funding for activities involving travel in these countries, and student groups are not permitted to visit any of them. Any Columbia student, faculty member or staff person who has travelled to any of these countries since September 15 must contact Columbia Health Services for additional guidance.” New York Universities Ban Travel to Ebola Stricken Countries