Rumana and Russo announce re-election plans, endorsements


Amid gurgling rumors of a primary, LD40 Assemblymen David C. Russo and Scott T. Rumana announced that they will seek another term to continue their fight for a more affordable and accountable New Jersey.

Russo and Rumana will start their campaign with considerable support among leading state, county, and local elected officials, who endorsed their candidacy today (full list below). The Republican Assemblymen have officially been endorsed by Governor Chris Christie, Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno, Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen, Congressman Scott Garrett, State Republican Chairman Sam Raia, Senate Republican Leader Tom Kean, Jr., Assembly Republican Leader Jon Bramnick, and home district State Senator Kevin J. O’Toole.

Russo and Rumana have also been endorsed by all four Republican leaders of the counties within the 40th Legislative District: Bergen County Chairman Bob Yudin, Essex County Chairman Al Barlas, Morris County Chairman John Sette, and Passaic County Chairman John Traier. They also have the support of the Republican legislative delegations from all four counties, all county Republican office holders from Bergen and Morris County and the Passaic County Regular Republican Organization Executive Committee– which will select the candidates who will appear on the Republican line on this year’s ballot.

“Scott and I are proud to enter this election with the support of so many hardworking elected officials that share our vision for less government waste and lower taxes,” said Russo. “We have always put taxpayers first and will continue to fight for real solutions to provide property tax relief.”

“We are humbled by the overwhelming support we have and recognize that our biggest challenge in 2015 in both the 40th District and the state of New Jersey is to work to rebuild our economy and help facilitate business development and job creation,” added Rumana, who serves as the Assembly Republican Whip and on the Red Tape Review Commission, tasked with rolling back job-killing regulation. “We have made significant strides in reducing onerous regulations and streamlining government; the job, however, is not done. We have more to do,” Rumana concluded.

Federal and State Leaders Endorsing Russo & Rumana for Assembly

Governor Chris Christie

Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno


Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen

Congressman Scott Garrett


New Jersey Republican State Committee Chairman Sam Raia


Senate Republican Leader Tom Kean, Jr.

Assembly Republican Leader Jon Bramnick

Senator Kevin J. O’Toole


Senator Tony Bucco

Senator Gerry Cardinale

Senator Steven Oroho


Senator Joe Pennacchio

Assemblyman Bob Auth

Assemblyman Anthony Bucco

Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll

Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce

Assemblywoman Alison Littel McHose

Assemblywoman Nancy Munoz

Assemblyman Parker Space

Assemblywoman Holly Shepisi

Assemblyman Jay Webber


Bergen County Endorsements

County Republican Chairman Bob Yudin

County Sheriff Michael Saudino


County Freeholder Maura DeNicola

County Freeholder John Felice


Republican State Committeewoman Darlene Shotmeyer

Republican State Committeeman Benedict A. Focarino

40th District Chairman Chris DePhillips

Allendale Municipal Chairman Robert Pash

Franklin Lakes Municipal Chairman Dave Catuogno

Ho Ho Kus Municipal Chairman and Councilman Phil Rorty

Midland Park Municipal Chairwoman Ester Vierheilig

Waldwick Municipal Chairman and Councilman Don Sciolaro

Wyckoff Municipal Chairwoman Drita McNamara

Essex County Endorsements

County Republican Chairman Al Barlas


Republican State Committeewoman Marie Vicchiariello

Republican State Committeeman Tom McDermott

Cedar Grove Municipal Chairwoman Bethany O’Toole


Morris County Endorsements

County Republican Chairman John Sette

County Sheriff Edward Rochford

County Clerk Ann Grossi

County Surrogate John Pecoraro

County Freeholder Director Kathy DeFillippo

County Freeholder Deputy Director John Cesaro

County Freeholder Doug Cabana

County Freeholder John Kirckus

County Freeholder William “Hank” Lyon

County Freeholder Tom Mastrangelo

County Freeholder David Scapicchio

Republican State Committeewoman Christina Ramirez

Republican State Committeeman Larry Casha

Pequannock Municipal Chairman Art Schmidt

Riverdale Municipal Chairman Bill Felegi


Passaic County Endorsements

County Republican Chairman John Traier

County Republican Vice Chairwoman Barbara Silvestro Roca

County Republican Finance Chairman George Decker

Republican State Committeewoman Marie Sieber

Republican State Committeeman and Wayne Councilman Rich Jasterzbski

Bloomingdale Municipal Chairman Dick DuHaime

Clifton Municipal Chairman Joe Cupolli

Haledon Municipal Chairman Ayman Memkej

Hawthorne Municipal Chairwoman Joni Huston

Little Falls Municipal Chairwoman and Mayor Darlene Post

City of Passaic Municipal Chairman Alan Juszcyk

Paterson Municipal Chairman Ramon Leon/Bill Connolly/Carlos Pagan

Pompton Lakes Municipal Chairman Peter Roos

Prospect Park Municipal Chairman Tom Magura

Ringwood Municipal Chairman Ted Taukus

Wanaque Municipal Chairman Don Pasquariello

Wayne Municipal Chairman Mike Marotta

West Milford Municipal Chairman Dan Jurkovic

Woodland Park Municipal Chairman Phil Barone Rumana and Russo announce re-election plans, endorsements