Rabner forms committee to examine domestic violence

troy 1 300Chief Justice Stuart Rabner today announced his formation of a committee to examine issues related to domestic violence cases in the New Jersey court system.
The Ad Hoc Committee on Domestic Violence will bring together representatives from all three branches of government to consider the issue of domestic violence from multiple perspectives and make recommendations to improve the current system.
“The committee will serve as a forum for stakeholders to conduct an in-depth review of our current domestic violence laws and

policies, including the interaction of the Municipal and Superior Courts in domestic violence matters, the level and degree of
domestic violence offenses, resources available to victims of domestic violence, and education and training opportunities available
for all stakeholders,” said Rabner. “I welcome a report on the committee’s findings and potential recommendations.”
Assignment Judge Georgia M. Curio of the Cumberland/Gloucester/Salem Vicinage will serve as chair of the committee.
The full committee roster:
Hon. Georgia M. Curio, Chair, Assignment Judge Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem Vicinage
Senator Diane B. Allen
Jose I. Bastarrika, Esq. Bastarrika, Soto, Gonzalez & Somohano, LLP
Prosecutor Joseph D. Coronato Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office
Laurence J. Cutler, Esq. (representative of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers NJ)
Laufer Dalena Cadicina, Jensen & Boyd, LLC
Amy K. DePaul, Esq., Trial Court Administrator Essex Vicinage
Joanne M. Dietrich, Esq. Assistant Director, Family Practice Division Administrative Office of the Courts
Paris Eliades, Esq., President New Jersey State Bar Association
Hon. Marlene Lynch Ford, J.S.C. Burlington Vicinage
Hon. Greta Gooden Brown, P.J.S.C. Passaic Vicinage
Ryan Goodwin, Esq., Assistant Counsel Office of Legal Counsel to the Governor
Monica Gural, Esq. Supervising Attorney Legal Services of New Jersey
Joseph A. Levin, Esq. Law Offices of Joseph A. Levin, LLC
Jessica Lyons, Esq., Deputy Public Defender (designee of Public Defender Joseph E. Krakora)
Julio L. Mendez, A.J.S.C. Atlantic/Cape May Vicinage
Assemblywoman Nancy F. Munoz
Norma Murgado, Esq. Chief Municipal Prosecutor, City of Elizabeth
Hon. Thomas M. North, P.J.M.C. Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem Vicinage
Penny Paparteys, Advocate Supervisor Providence House
Jane Baldwin Shivas, Executive Director New Jersey Coalition for Battered Women
Assemblyman Troy Singleton (pictured, above)
Jennifer Stonerod, Esq., Deputy Attorney General (designee of Acting Attorney General John J. Hoffman)
Senator Loretta Weinberg
Charles W. Wigginton, Esq. Municipal Public Defender, Collingswood Municipal Court Staff to the Committee:
Amelia Wachter Smith, Chief Family Practice Division, AOC
Steven Somogyi, Chief Municipal Court Services, AOC
Rabner forms committee to examine domestic violence