NJ Black Mayors Alliance for Social Justice Launches Thursday

FullSizeRender (2)

New Jersey’s 21 African-American mayors on Thursday evening will officially launch The Black Mayors Alliance for Social Justice at a fundraiser in Trenton. Speakers at the event will include Rev.Dr. Regena Thomas,  Congresswoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman, Senator Ronald Rice and mayors from throughout New Jersey.

According to a release, the group will try to leverage the power they have individually to impact the choice of candidates for President, Governor, and important national, state and local offices. They will combine their individual strengths in order to ensure that candidates at every level are responsive to the needs and concerns of African Americans, Latinos, and the poor of every race.  Money raised by the New Jersey Black Mayors Alliance for Social Justice will be used to elect candidates, shape legislation, advocate for economic equality, empower communities and foster new leadership.

The event is scheduled to take place from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Wyndham Garden Hotel, 1 West Lafayette Street, Trenton.

Participants include Mayor Ras J. Baraka (Newark, NJ),Mayor Frank Minor (Logan, NJ); Mayor Adrian Mapp (Plainfield, NJ);  Mayor Eric Jackson (Trenton, NJ); Mayor Lester Taylor (East Orange, NJ); Mayor Tony Vauss (Irvington, NJ); Mayor Robert Jackson (Montclair, NJ); Mayor Angela Garretson (Hillside, NJ); Mayor Jeff Hamilton (Paulsboro, NJ); Mayor John Washington (PennsGrove, NJ); Mayor Derek Armstead (Linden, NJ); Mayor Lizette Parker (Teaneck,NJ); Mayor Albert Kelly(Bridgeton, NJ); Mayor Carolyn Chang (Westampton, NJ); Mayor Rick Taylor (Pennsauken, NJ); Mayor Jesse L. Tweedle (Pleasantville, NJ); Mayor Dwayne Warren (Orange, NJ); Mayor Barbara Wallace ( Washington Township, NJ); Mayor Charles Washington (Salem, NJ); Mayor Mary Ann Wardlow (Lawnside Township,NJ);   Mayor Michael Blunt (Chesilhurst, NJ);   Honorary Event Chairs: U.S. Senator Cory Booker, Congressman Donald M. Payne, Congresswoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman, Senator Ronald L. Rice, Rev. Dr. Regena Thomas. Host Committee:Mayor Doug Palmer, Mayor Steve Fulop, Ambassador Phil Murphy, Jeannine Frisby LaRue, Calvin Souder, Terri Tucker, Christie Davis, Marjorie Perry, Jason Solowsky, Lita Cruz, Genia C. Philip Esq., Charline and Otis Rolley.



Share this article:

Exit mobile version