Three New Councilmembers Elected in Ridgewood

Three new councilpeople were elected in Ridgewood during Tuesday’s municipal election. Starting in July Jeffrey Voight, Ramon Hache, and Bernadette Coghlan-Walsh will begin four-year terms.

The three candidates were able to defeat Janice Willett, Evan Weitz, and Richard Brooks.

They will replace Mayor Paul Aronsohn, Deputy Mayor Albert Pucciarelli and councilmember Gwenn Hauck.

Turnout in Ridgewood was higher than expected for the municipal elections. About 34 percent of the village’s 16,740 residents cast ballots on Tuesday.

The village will decide on a new mayor during the July reorganization.

Three New Councilmembers Elected in Ridgewood