Handlin Endorses Guadagno in NJ Republican Gubernatorial Primary

Assemblywoman one of 102 new endorsements released on Friday

Handlin New Jersey Legislature

Republican Assemblywoman Amy Handlin of New Jersey’s 13th legislative district has officially endorsed Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno for governor. While Handlin’s endorsement makes her only one of over 300 New Jersey Republicans to endorse Guadagno so far, it demonstrates  a potential shift in the dynamic of the district 13 state senate race.

Both Handlin and Assemblyman Declan O’Scanlon — formerly running mates — have expressed interest in running for state senate to replace retiring state Senator Joe Kyrillos. That would potentially set up a costly primary in the Republican-leaning district. Some speculated that by not endorsing Guadagno, Handlin was keeping her options open to pursue the seat off the line with a Guadagno challenger like Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli. Her decision to endorse Guadagno hints that Handlin may, instead, opt to pursue re-election to Assembly rather than challenge O’Scanlon to a senate contest. O’Scanlon endorsed Guadagno in early February.

Handlin previously stated that she is flexible in terms of whether or not she will run for senate while O’Scanlon has said that he will not waver from his decision to run for that seat. A decision to step back from the senate race and run for re-election to the Assembly would be in line with previous assertions made by Handlin that she will run for the position supported by party leadership in order to keep the GOP unified.

Handlin’s decision to endorse also further solidifies the likelihood that Guadagno will get the county line in Monmouth, her home county.

Handlin’s endorsement was announced as one of 102 endorsements released by Guadagno’s campaign on Friday. So far, Guadagno has announced over 300 endorsements from state and local Republicans for her pursuit of the Republican nomination for governor.

Read the full list of Guadagno’s Friday endorsements here:

State Legislators: 

* Amy Handlin, Assemblywoman and Deputy Republican Leader (LD13)
* Frank Gargiulo, Former Assemblyman (LD32)/Former Hudson County GOP Chairman/North Bergen Commissioner

County Party Leadership:   

*Terry Lucarelli, Atlantic County GOP Secretary
* Melanie Collette, Cape May County GOP Corresponding Secretary
* Timothy Donohue, Cape May County GOP Vice Chair/Middle Twp. Committeeman
* John Lane, Monmouth County GOP Parliamentarian
* Wayne Pomanowski, Monmouth County GOP Sergeant-At-Arms/Former Affiliated Republican Club President

County Elected Officials:       

* Robert Walton, Hunterdon County Freeholder
* Gary Schaffer, Cape May County Sheriff
* Leonard Desiderio, Cape May County Freeholder/Sea Isle City Mayor
* Robert Nolan, Cape May County Undersheriff/Candidate for Cape May County Sheriff
* Carman Daddario, Cumberland County Freeholder
* Jim Sauro, Cumberland County Freeholder
* Joseph Sparacio, Cumberland County Freeholder
* Christine Giordano Hanlon, Monmouth County Clerk
* Doug Painter, Salem County Freeholder
* Sylvia Petillo, Sussex County Freeholder

Mayors, Council Members, and Township Committee Members:  

* Philip Guenther, Brigantine Mayor
* Ari Bernstein, Allendale Councilman
* Norman Schmelz, Bergenfield Mayor
* Arthur Pazan, Glen Rock Councilman
* Bill Leonard, Glen Rock Councilman
* Dr. Carmine Nogara, Former Glen Rock Councilman
* Bella Fellig, Former Glen Rock Councilwoman
* Peter Traina, Hasbrouck Heights Councilman
* Justin DiPisa, Hasbrouck Heights Council President
* Ronald Kistner, Hasbrouck Heights Councilman
* Russell Lipari, Hasbrouck Heights Councilman
* John Glidden, Closter Mayor
* Douglas Frank, Hillsdale Mayor
* Adrian Febre, Maywood Mayor
* Mike Ghassali, Montvale Mayor
* Joseph Bianchi, North Arlington Mayor
* Alan Brundage, Former Paramus Councilman
* Irena Holiat, Saddle River Municipal Co-Chair
* Jon Kurpis, Saddle River Committeeman
* Jeff Liva, Saddle River Committeeman
* Beth Dell, Westwood Councilwoman
* Rudolph Boonstra, Wyckoff Mayor
* Bill Davis, Millville Commissioner/GOP Municipal Leader
* Jason Cilento, Dunellen Councilman
* Matthew Anesh, South Plainfield Mayor
* Pat Lembo, Sayreville Councilman
* Jack Archibald, Atlantic Highlands Councilman
* Peter Doyle, Atlantic Highlands Councilman
* Donna Mazzella-Diedrichsen, Eatontown Councilwoman
* Ben Lucarelli, Fair Haven Mayor
* Robert Marchese, Fair Haven Councilman
* Jim Daly, Farmingdale Mayor
* Gregory Buontempo, Holmdel Mayor
* Pauline Smith, Howell Councilwoman
* Art Boden, Keansburg Councilman/Municipal Chair
* Stephen Massell, Middletown Twp. Committeeman
* Kevin Settembrino, Middletown Twp. Committeeman
* Rick Pryor, Neptune City Councilman
* Alex Tallman, Neptune City Councilman
* Andrew Wardell, Neptune City Councilman
* Joe Zajack, Neptune City Councilman
* Barbara Shafer, Neptune City Councilwoman
* Ted Wardell, Former Neptune City Mayor/Councilman
* Michael Whelan, Red Bank Councilman
* Lou Andreuzzi, Union Beach Councilman
* Al Lewandowski, Union Beach Councilman
* Mark Walsifer, Belmar Councilman
* Jeffrey Carr, Toms River Councilman
* Frank Matthews, Hawthorne Councilman
* Charles Solimini, Hawthorne County Committee Vice Chair
* Christopher Vergano, Wayne Mayor
* Susan Enderly, New Jersey Federation of Republican Women Vice President Region 2 (Passaic, Bergen, Hudson)/Wayne County Committeewoman
* Edward Zimmerman, Former Rocky Hill Mayor
* Ellen Dickson, Former Summit Mayor
* Dan Bertham, Robbinsville Councilman
* Stephen Alexander, Upper Freehold Twp. Committeeman
* Molly Whilesmith, Former Sparta Mayor/Councilwoman
* Christine Quinn, Former Sparta Mayor/Councilwoman
* Jerry Murphy, Former Sparta Mayor/Councilman
* Jack Trotta, Plumsted Mayor/Republican Club President
* Eric Sorchik, Plumsted Deputy Mayor/Municipal Chair
* Herb Marinari, Plumsted Committeeman
* Mike Wysong, Plumsted Committeeman
* Tina Wetter, Waretown Mayor

Municipal Chairs & GOP Organization Leaders:      

*  Ira Treuhaft, Former Bergenfield Municipal Chair
* Joan Carlson, Ridgefield Park Municipal Chair
* Dolores “Dee” Rebecky, Wallington Municipal Chair
* Ray Lally, Hamilton Twp. Municipal Chair
* Louise Murray, Asbury Park Municipal Chair
* Jane Frotton, Atlantic Highlands Municipal Chair
* Tracy Bean, Belmar Municipal Chair
* Muriel Smith, Freehold Borough Municipal Chair
* Carol Bucco, Highlands Municipal Chair
* Steve Lambros, Millstone Municipal Chair
* Jennifer DiLorenzo, Monmouth Beach Municipal Chair
* Danielle Daly, Neptune Twp. Republican Club President
* Tom Fitterer, Ocean Twp. Republican Club President
* Bob Burlew, Affiliated Republican Club of Monmouth County President/Former Keyport Municipal Chair
* Charles Smentkowski, Former Asbury Park Municipal Chair/Retired Asbury Park Police Officer/Retired Lieutenant, Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office
* Marcy McMullen, Holmdel Municipal Chair
* Joe Cupoli, Clifton Republican Leader
* Tim Troast, Pompton Lakes Republican Leader
* Lydia Dodd, Waretown Municipal Chair
* Joseph Speranza, Hawthorne Fire Chief
* Robert Zuest, Pittsgrove Municipal Leader Handlin Endorses Guadagno in NJ Republican Gubernatorial Primary